We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome place to stay in Munising”
Doc's place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doc's place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Doc's place
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Munising, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

happytrav...
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay in Munising”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This home is known as Doc’s Place. It is a very well-maintained home on the main street in Munising. There is a view of Lake Superior from the house and its backyard. You do share the rather large backyard with the other rental on this property. There is a patio with two tables and an upper wooden deck that are just for the use of those staying at Doc’s Place. I thought being on the main street might be noisy, but it was not noisy at all.

We were a group of ten people: Six adults and four children. The home is not young kid-friendly (no porta-cribs or high chairs), but it is truly spacious and lovely. It was definitely worth having to pack our own porta crib. We debated back and forth between motels or this home. We were so happy we chose the home.

The kitchen is well stocked. We did use a lot of disposable products, mainly because we had children and didn’t want to break any of the lovely dishes/glassware. There is a full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, range and microwave. The laundry room includes a washer and dryer. The bedrooms were all spacious and nicely decorated. There are two bathrooms, which worked out well for the ten of us. At some point an all-season room was added to this home. We made this room into the child’s play room. It was so nice having a place they could call their own and it kept their mess all in one location in the home. The kitchen is huge with a large table that seated our entire group. The living room is also spacious. The air conditioning is unique. You need to keep the bedroom doors open in order to benefit from the cooling system. We rented this home when the temperatures were in the 80s and the home stayed very comfortable. The home included internet which worked well. There was a TV, but we are not big TV watchers, so I can't comment on the channel selection.

You are walking distance to the Pictured Rocks Cruises, a playground, supermarket, restaurants, shops, ice cream stores, etc. This location was truly perfect for our needs!! If we are in the area again, we will definitely consider Doc’s Place. The rental agency was always prompt to respond to our questions, even when we had finally arrived at the home. The reservation process went smoothly. I highly recommend this rental as your home away from home when you are in Munising. It was a great stay at a warm and inviting home.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and spaciousness of the home and well as the location
Liked least: Honestly, nothing I can think of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinal1641
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ladies Ice Climbing weekend”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had ten women traveling from all parts of the country for Michigan Ice Fest so I decided a rental house would be a good option so we could all spend time together. Doc's place was just wonderful.

The kitchen is open to the dining room so we had plenty of room to congregate and enough space to plug in two crock pots full of chili. The living room was roomy and some of the ladies loved the fireplace so much they pulled out their sleeping bags and slept in front of it.

There are two full baths one upstairs and one down. With ten women I thought this may be an issue but we all seemed to know when it was empty and took our turn.

The bedrooms and beds were brand new and wonderful down comforters covered each one. There was also two blow up (motorized) twin beds. We used the two blow up beds as the hide-a-bed was not very comfortable. These beds were easily inflated/deflated and very comfortable. Our only problem was we could not find any sheets for these beds. So if you are going to use them you will need to ask that before hand.

There are two keys and make sure you have them both if you travel with a big group where everyone is coming and going as the neighbor does not have a key. Cudos to that neighbor too as we were out there shoveling snow and he came out and used his snow blower for us.

The location was good and we walked to our downtown destination.
I would rent this place again in a heartbeat as it gave our group the ability to hang out in a cozy environment.

Date of stay: February 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBAD01
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, excellent views of Lake Superior, superb home.”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I rented a house in downtown Munising (in lieu of a more rural location) so that it would be easy to find when we arrived late at night. The house is on the main strip, with a snowmobile route just to the north. We snowshoed on Lake Superior a few times directly from the house, just a few blocks away. There were ice fisherman houses and snowmobiles on the windy lake- we would have gone to Grand Island if not for the blinding snowstorm. The house itself is newly renovated with a full kitchen with new appliances, a washer/dryer, two full baths, and 4 separate bedrooms. The house appears to be staged for a sale, with Williams Sonoma dishes on the dining room table and books and pictures carefully placed. Lisa from the management company was great.

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.