We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
16
4
3
5
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
4
3
5
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! The food is freshly made and the bedrooms are impeccable. I also got excellent wifi connection everywhere throughout the hotel.
I also liked the service throughout my vacation and the staff in villa hotel are very kind and friendly

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Unknown G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandiah R, Owner at Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Dear ,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. It was truly our pleasure to accommodate and host you during your short but memorable stay at Villa Hotel. We look forward to hear more from you and are expecting that you will come again. With Utmost Respect and Humble Regards, Management

Villa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

This was our 7th hotel in 11days in Sri Lanka. The most expensive and by far the worst. It started off badly with us taking around 30 mins to be checked in. There seemed to be confusion with our booking. We had booked an executive penthouse room. On eventually being shown our room we were immediately disappointed. Our room was meant to be 55 square meters. It was only approx 35 square meters. Many of the booking sites are advertising this room at 55 square meters. It was no where near that. The room wasn’t clean either. The guy from reception did admit that it wasn’t that size. Discussions with the management and hotels.com followed. As all the other hotels in the area were full our options were limited . The WiFi in the room did not work. It took 2.5 hours and three visits to reception to get it working. The room had not been cleaned properly. There was even water in the glasses from the previous occupants. The bathroom was a disgrace . The plug in the sink was corroded and had a hole in the middle of it. The floor of the shower had been badly patched. The water both in the sink and the shower was only a trickle. There was a kettle but no cups or tea and coffee. The whole room had a grubby feel to it. When I pointed out that the room had not been cleaned the manager did get someone up to give it another clean but it wasn’t a huge improvement. The safe didn’t work and was actually able to be removed from the wardrobe! When we got someone up to look at it we were told “it’s broken” when we asked if they could fix it we were told “no” and he walked out of the room. The room was also advertised as having a free mini bar. it didn’t, free or otherwise . Through out this whole fiasco the staff were very unhelpful and quite arrogant. It is the first time in our trip around Sri Lanka that we have come across such unfriendly and unhelpful people. There is not very much in the surrounding area either. It is quite a run down area with very few restaurants. The following morning we decided to check out. Hotels. Com were very helpful in dealing with this matter. When we came to check out we had to wait 10 minutes until they got change. There was no apology from any of the staff.
Some of the reviews on here bear no resemblance to the hotel we stayed in! The descriptions of this hotel on the booking sites are not very accurate either.
Avoid at all costs!!
We ended up moving area completely and went to Negambo where we are staying in a lovely hotel which is a hundred times better!,

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie120968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandiah R, Owner at Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Julie,
I would like to thank you personally for your detailed feedback. It has allowed us to take a more in depth look into our operations and we can assure you that we have made all the necessary changes to make your stay with us pleasurable. We are very grateful for the patience you had during your stay and we welcome you to come and receive a much more satisfying experience the next time you come around to Trincomalee. We have included some awesome tours to keep our guests entertained. Our apologies for the delay on response, but we can assure you that your review assisted us in making the necessary changes that were required, hence we thank you and look forward to having another opportunity to host you once again. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

A clean and hygienic room. Tasty food. Beautiful view over the bay and most importantly a helpful and careing staff. You can book activities like diving for the best price in trinco. I totally recommend staying here.
Thanks Burak

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Burak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandiah R, Front Office Manager at Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear burak,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. It was truly our pleasure to accommodate and host you during your short but memorable stay at Villa Hotel. We look forward to hear more from you and are expecting that you will come again. With Utmost Respect and Humble Regards, Management Villa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels we stayed in. Perfect location. Room was big enough, modern and very clean. The staff at the front desk was very friendly, helpful and professional. This was a great hotel at a great price. We definitely would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jokithas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandiah R, Front Office Manager at Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Jokithas,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. It was truly our pleasure to accommodate and host you during your short but memorable stay at Villa Hotel. We look forward to hear more from you and are expecting that you will come again. With Utmost Respect and Humble Regards, Management Villa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely time with my family,everyone enjoyed the stay. The sky view bar was amazing and the customer service was fantastic. Highly recommend you stay at villa hotel, one of the best in Trincomalee I must say.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank morville s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandiah R, Owner at Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. It was truly our pleasure to accommodate and host you during your short but memorable stay at Villa Hotel. We look forward to hear more from you and are expecting that you will come again. With Utmost Respect and Humble Regards, Management Villa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews