We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
42
14
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
14
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newer ones no air conditioning an extra bed helpful owner comfy bed sri lanka pigeon island mosquito net beautiful beach huts hosts cabin laundry noise designing 5min fan
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Lovely place with a very friendly owner. Laid back, chilled place. There was misunderstanding in our booking where we expected a “family” room. Instead it was just a double room. The guy was quick to offer solutions such as adding an extra bed (not really enough space for that) or even put our child in a separate room (also not ideal). At end of the day, the fault was with Booking.com not with them. The beds were so wide we just slept in the same one! :-)

I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank dazzatraveller1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in one of the silaa cabana “beach huts” during our stay. It was basic but charming and we always enjoyed returning after a long day at the nearby beautiful beach. The room had air con, a mosquito net, shelves for clothes / shoes. The bathroom had concrete walls and felt as if it was outdoors but was clean and comfortable. We had seats outside our cabin and a hammock and often sat outside to relax and enjoy our surroundings. Neville and his father were very friendly and accommodating and helped us with everything we needed. They even organised a family friend to drive us 6 hours to Arugam Bay (our next holiday destination) for less cost than a travel company that our UK friends recommended. Breakfast was lovely - pancakes and banana or traditional Sri Lankan. For us three nights was the perfect length of stay and it was one of the most special places we stayed at during our time in Sri Lanka.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rosanna_spence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Very nice place to stay in Uppuveli (Trincomalee). The owner is very friendly and kind.
There are 4/5 cabanas with a fan and the newer ones (4) also have airconditioning. We stayed in a newer one due to the heat, the older ones have a very boutique cuteness about them.
You can use the fridge in the kitchen to store some supplies, so you do not need a fridge in the room; the garden/chill out area is nice with lots of shade and a hammock and monkeys above in the huge trees.
We had a cabana with a kingbed ans shared it with 2 adults and 1 child, which works out grand,keep in mind an extra bed is possible but the space of the cabana will be a bit small but we had plenty of space sharing the bed.
We highly recommend to stay at Silaa Cabana, with the beach close by and nice places to eat just around the corner. We hugely enjoyed our days chilling out before continuing our journey though Sri Lanka!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank ChazaHello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We stayed 10 nights at Silaa Cabana and felt very welcome by Silaa and Neville.
The Cabins are outstanding clean and stocked with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Great shower! Good breakfast selection!
Neville is beyond friendly and helped us with everything we desired from renting a motorbike to finding the best beaches or places to eat!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I spent one night at one of the air conditioned cabanas, and found the cabana to be really clean and comfortable. the set up was very tranquil and like many other guest of the time I found myself on the deck chairs just chilling in to the evening.
The cabana that I stayed in is ideal for a couple. The hosts were really friendly and accommodating, gave us some really helpful tips on where to go for meal. There are number of restaurants within walking distance from the cabana, and the cabana is within 5 minutes walk to the beach.
I absolutely loved this place, and would come again, and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a different experience to a "typical hotel" experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews