We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mackinac Island Carriage Tours
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect way to see the island!

What a great way to get to see most of the highlights of Mackinac Island! We had awesome carriage... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Amy M
,
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Great way to see at least a part of the island.

Check in at their main office, buy tickets and you'll receive reservation time. This saves you... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
chucktodd75
,
West Sacramento, California
Read all 1 501 reviews
  
Reviews (1 501)
Filter reviews
1 501 results
Traveller rating
928
344
125
64
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
344
125
64
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage tour grand hotel second half arch rock state park great tour corny jokes tour takes college students butterfly house surrey hill hour tour points of interest ticket booth main street wings worth the price
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 1 501 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We did the carriage tour so we could learn more about the island and check out what we might want to do or where we might want to go while we were there. I totally recommend this tour. The driver was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot of history about the island.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We had terrific drivers who were funny, informative and entertaining. They all seemed knowledgeable about the island and their horses. The trip lasts just about the right length of time. Wish I could give it more stars. Best activity on the island!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank IowaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

It was nice to be able to sit back and see the island. It is done in two parts. The first is a tour through town and the second one is through the forest. It stops at all the tourist places and saves you from walking up the hills. The guides are also entertaining.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank worldtraveler1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Really a fun way to explore the entire island. With crowds of 100s of tourists walking, biking, riding their individual horses, and consuming more fudge in a day than you will see eaten in any given year, it’s a welcome relief to be escorted by some great horse drawn people carriers. These are fine animals. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. You really get to see the island.

Be sure and secure a time for your carriage ride after your shuttle boat lands. Their location is about two blocks after exiting to the right from boat ferry. It’s first come, first serve.

You have the option to get off at any stop and walk or rejoin a later carriage subject to space available.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Justatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Allow time for a 2 hour overview of the island: the tour guides provided info about the history and everyday life on the island, as well as info about the horses. Unlike many carriage tours offered in cities, these horses seem very well treated and are well trained, with drivers who know and appreciate their personalities. We had 3 guides for different portions of the tour and they all were enjoyable.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Betwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews