We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality and quantity lunch buffet, great service”

Grand Luncheon Buffet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was part of a bus tour group that received a tour of the Grand Hotel followed but the lunch buffet. The buffet was exquisite and fresh with a huge selection of fish, beef, pork, items, many casseroles, salads, and a large pastry table.
Service was great, not rushed and no tipping per Grand Hotel rules (included in price of the meal).
Atmosphere was top class, historical Mackinac.
Highly recommended.
Price - I can’t comment on, since it was part of our 3 day bus tour.
Seating was nice and six of us were seated at a table very quickly - note: we arrived as soon as the dining area opened.

Thank turniekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The buffet has everything you can imagine. We wanted to see the hotel and wander around the grounds so we decided to do the grand buffet for lunch. It was excellent and the staff was friendly and accommodating! The hotel ground and views are breathtaking!

Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Public Relations Manager at Grand Luncheon Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Patty! We're delighted that you enjoyed the luncheon as well as the views!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the grand hotel with the expectation that the lunch buffet it a “DONT MISS” but unfortunately that was not our experience. Though there are a lot of options the food was sub-par at best. The oysters were grainy and small the entree options were bland and boring. It felt like any cruise ships buffet. It all felt very out dated. The saving graces were the mashed potatoes, the poached shrimp, and the DESSERT TABLE. dessert was delicious and we saved lots of room for that

That being said the server we had Denise was great and kept our drinks full and our plates cleared.

Thank bridget F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Public Relations Manager at Grand Luncheon Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your review Bridget and apologize that you felt this way about your Grand Luncheon Buffet experience, we are a historic hotel and like to embrace traditional dishes. We regret that you did not find them enjoyable. We will take your comments to our Dining Room Management Staff to work to improve our Grand Luncheon Buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for the luncheon buffet 2 adults and 2 children. Lots of veggies and fruit, few meat choices and only mashed potatoes. Quite a few seafood choices. Not really worth the price. It's more about the experience.

Thank worldtraveler1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Public Relations Manager at Grand Luncheon Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We regret that you felt this way about dining with us at our Grand Luncheon Buffet. We certainly strive to provide a wide variety of dishes for everyone and apologize that you did not find these selections adequate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Grand Luncheon Buffet has food for everyone, no matter their dietary restrictions or preferences. They even have vegan and gluten free options!

Thank anniefairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Public Relations Manager at Grand Luncheon Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Annie! We appreciate your review and are so glad you were able to enjoy yourself dining with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Luncheon Buffet also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Grand Luncheon Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing