We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most idyllic holiday ever...bar none!”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautifully restored cottage (1774) set in a lovely rural domain with breathtaking view over valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautifully restored cottage (1774) set in a lovely rural domain with breathtaking view over valley
Set in an undulating landscape, Excellent view. Yes. Paradise exists!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Beautifully restored cottage (1774) set in a lovely rural domain with breathtaking view over valley
Set in an undulating landscape, Excellent view.
Yes. Paradise exists!
Where went all the ambitious plans of exploring the surrounding? Hard to leave the terrace.
Enjoy the stunning views from your own private terrace.
A private pool overlooking the lovely valley.
Unexpected guests
Welcome at Maisonneuve. L'Hermite awaits you
Spacious living with traditional wood burner
Cosy living with traditional fire place.
Traditional wood burner
Well equipped open kitchen, with fabulous wooden worktops.
Double bedroom  with fantastic view over the valley. Ground floor. 140 cm bed
Large family bathroom with two showers, double basins and a separate toilet.
Family bathroom with two showers.
Double bedroom on the first floor. 140cm bed.
Another lazy day
Total relaxation for mind, body and soul
Siesta under the trees
Okay then....one more lazy day in paradise
Entrance of L'Hermite as seen from the courtyard
L'Hermite located on a south facing hill
Awaiting the little guests to arrive
Tree house for little adventurers
To lose excess energy
Welcome package
Blooming Albizia in the courtyard
They are here as well
Early mornings at the nearby lake.
View to the left as seen from the pool
Typical French
And more typical French
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Thenon, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
John O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most idyllic holiday ever...bar none!”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is the first review I've ever done as I've never felt the need before. This holiday however demands it. The selfish part of me wants to trash it so others don't visit & we could have it all to ourselves. That, however, could never happen.
Where do I start! The setting is the most idyllic we've ever found, so peaceful & stunning scenery.
We were met on our arrival by the owner Tineke, who just happened to be staying in the other cottage, & she made us feel very welcome from the start. She showed us around then left us to it. We were spoiled, as Tineke left the following morning & there were no other occupants of the two other properties, so we had the whole place to ourselves for the week.
The photos on the website are very accurate but just don't do the place justice, I don't think you can really appreciate the peace & beauty until you visit.
We were celebrating our 25th anniversary, (Tineke had very kindly left us a card & gifts, a lovely gesture), and wanted to just sit and enjoy our own company in beautiful surroundings. Honestly we could not have picked a better place.
We stayed in L'Hermite, which was lovely but, having seen the others, I don't think you would be disappointed by any. All are positioned so that, even if all were occupied, you would still have your privacy.
The properties & grounds are meticulously cared for by Martin & Carol, an English couple who live nearby. Martin was very discreet whilst maintaining the grounds & pools & you wouldn't know he was there if you didn't approach him yourself. They gave us some good tips for eating & trips out but we were happy where we were.
Although we were looking for peace & quiet, families would also be welcome at the cottages, As well as installing stone barbecues in all the cottages, Martin has built a kids playground away from the properties so the kids can play whilst the grown ups enjoy the scenery & wine.
The cottages are remote so a car is essential, the small town of Thenon is a 5 minute drive away with a Carrefour Market that caters for most essentials. If you wanted more, there are bigger supermarkets at Montignac, (15 mins) or Sarlat (30 mins). Sarlat is worth a visit.
The closest airport is probably Bergerac (1 hr).
We have travelled all over Europe & beyond and we can honestly say that this is the first holiday that not only lived up to expectations but totally exceeded them.
You could not fail to fall in love with this place, if you didn't, then maybe you should just stay at home, as holidays mustn't be for you!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for such an overwhelming review. I'm very happy we succeeded in offering you the perfect vacation. De location is indeed peacefull and the view breathtaking and we share it with great pleasure with others. For relaxation, inspiration and contemplation. But also for a bath in (pre)-history, medieval cities and fantastic nature. And wine and dine of course! So, know yourself -any time- very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjam G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the perfect getaway”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

L'Hermite is one of three cottages on a beautiful and quiet property. Every cottage has its own part of the property and your privacy is assured. L'Hermite is a home away from home. It has everything you need and is charmingly furnished. The view is stunning. It is situated about 3 kilometers from Thenon, a village that has all the basic amenities. You can visit lots of wonderful old villages and towns within easy driving distance. We had a wonderful stay, cooked lots af great food that we bought at the local markets and prepared 'at home'. We had a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the kitchen
Liked least: nothing:-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
l'Hermite is situated in the very heart of the Vézère Valley (Unesco world heritage) and the area is of a breathtaking beauty. I agree! But -like you discovered- don't miss the food. Did you know about the black truffle markets in winter? Next time perhaps?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msjetster
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming cottage, but hard to find”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

L'Hermite is a charming cottage with pear and apple trees on the grounds. The October weather was great, but too cold for the pool. Our reservation was for one week, but we only stayed for five days. The Internet was not working during any part of our stay. We were told It was because of a storm.
The cottage had all that was needed for cooking, plus a dishwasher and washing machine. However the directions for the dishwasher were in French and the washing mashing directions were in German, so we used neither. Other than these problems, we enjoyed our stay. Thank goodness for GPS,

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
It was indeed unfortunate the phone company couldn't fix the connection during your stay and our calls couldn't influence their speed. We were not the only people with damage. Fortunately, such a failure is rare and in fact we are proud of our stable internet. But above-ground cables as in France are not vulnerable to severe weather. Thank you very much for your advise related to the instructions. We will see how to improve these.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your positive words. If you like the sound of nature; in another period of the year you can enjoy the enchanting nightingales as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LyndallKa...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceeded our expectations. We loved it.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I and our 10 month old son just returned from our stay at L'Hermite and could not recommend it highly enough. It's conveniently located just a couple of minutes from Thenon town centre which has a few shops, restaurants and a tourist office and just 20-25 minutes drive from the larger town of Montignac and a good base to explore the local area. Our GPS took us directly to Maisonneuve where L'Hermite is one of three cottages situated on a large property in the middle of some cornfields.

As soon as we drove in we were blown away by the amazing view. L'Hermite looks over a valley and the outlook is incredible. The photos don't do it justice. We arrived to a welcome hamper including wine, champagne and a wedding card (we were on our honeymoon) which we thought was a very thoughtful touch.

The cottage was extremely functional, child friendly and the kitchen was very well equipped with everything we needed and more. The cottage has three bedrooms - two upstairs and one downstairs. My husband and I slept in the room downstairs with our son in a cot. The week we were there was incredibly hot (mid-high 30s) but the entire downstairs was surprisingly and pleasantly cool owing to the structure of the building and its thick walls. We also enjoyed the plunge pool (which is bigger than it looks in the photos) and sun loungers.

The owner Tineke happened to be holidaying in one of the cottages at the same time. She and her colleague were so lovely, warm and helpful. It was clear to us how much love and time they have invested in making L'Hermite and Maisonneuve generally the relaxing and enjoyable holiday destination it is. Our stay at L'Hermite exceeded our expectations. We felt wonderfully relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your positive words. We try our best to make people happy and it is a pleasure to know we succeded.
luckily we have the surrounding at our side when we try to create an unwinding period for our guets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing