We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT STAY IN BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Wheelwrights

The Wheelwrights in the heart of the picturesque tudor village, Waltham St. Lawrence
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wheelwrights in the heart of the picturesque tudor village, Waltham St. Lawrence
An idyllic cottage built in 1717 and full refurbished in 2013.  Now surrounded by spring blossom Kitchen with beams, a vaulted ceiling and fully equipped.  A perfect match of old and new
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Wheelwrights in the heart of the picturesque tudor village, Waltham St. Lawrence
An idyllic cottage built in 1717 and full refurbished in 2013.  Now surrounded by spring blossom
Kitchen with beams, a vaulted ceiling and fully equipped.  A perfect match of old and new
Romantic Master Bedroom with kingsize bed
Breakfast in Royal Berkshire
The forge, now a log burning stove
Enjoying English spring views
Contemporary styling
Dining in style
Film night
Keeping toastie
Italian Wet Room
Master Bedroom
Luxurious German designer Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
In the grounds of grade ii listed Tuckenhams
The renowned Real Ale Bell Pub opposite
The Parish church a few steps away
Looking out on the much photographed lychgate
The nearby Shottesbrooke Estate with excellent walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waltham St Lawrence, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn258
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY IN BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We only stayed for two nights - wish it could have been longer so we could explore the surrounding area.. From the moment we stepped inside we felt very much at home as we were welcomed by Steve the owner. The cottage was immaculate and If we are ever in this part of the country again we shall certainly be staying here.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Dawn, Thanks for the great review. Very much appreciated and hope to see you back soon.. Steve & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jla007
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing holiday rental ”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

If you ever want to visit Windsor, Legoland or the sights of London this is the perfect place to stay. It is situated near Tywford which has regular trains to Paddington and a Waitrose supermarket and is 10 minutes from Windsor. The cottage itself is amazing with everything you could possibly need and it was extremely clean and tidy. The booking process was very easy and the owners were really helpful. I would definitely return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thanks Jane, It's great to get such positive feedback. Looking forward to having you back at The Wheelwrights
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs Le Grice”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a gem of a place. The photos really don't do this place justice. We needed somewhere to stay whilst taking our children to Legoland and I came across the wheelwrights on trip advisor. Modern, clean and cosy with all mod cons plus the added bonus of a great pup across the road. Somewhere we would definitely stay again! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Fantastic that you had a great time and thank you for the positive review. We really appreciate it. Look forward to welcoming you again Warm regards Steve & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawsy2
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Would highly recommend The Wheelwrights. Beautiful property, fantastic location, brilliant owners. Can't wait to go back. Accommodation completed to a very high standard, a perfect base to explore this area of England .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you all again to The Wheelwrights Sue & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The power showers and kitchen
Liked least: Lack of storage space upstairs - including lack of built in wardrobes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$214
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing