We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Tuck Inn B&B(Rockport)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle House Motel(Rockport)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 20/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockport Inn and Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Addison Choate Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yankee Clipper Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Changing Tides Bed and Breakfast(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seafarer Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$212
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sally Webster Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
152
120
40
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
120
40
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelocean viewno liftrocking chairs on the porchmusselsnew englandback porchget awaylonger staycape annplenty of parkingoff seasonthird floordowntown rockportbearskin neckpigeonwedding
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Loved, Loved, Loved this hotel! Book a room overlooking the ocean as the sunrises and views are spectacular - we were mesmerized by the natural beauty and deliberately awakened early to enjoy the unfolding displays from our room (could watch it from our bed). In addition, this hotel is located in a quiet, tranquil area. Close enough to Rockport and Gloucester that we could enjoy the goings on there, yet far enough away that we could retreat to serenity. The gardens on the grounds are pretty and inviting. Adirondack chairs in the garden and rocking chairs on the porch beckon one to relax/recharge. The rooms boast of comfortable beds and linens. More than enough outlets for charging phones, tablets, and other electronic devices. No mini-fridge in the room so do be aware of that (perfectly manageable however).

Highly recommend this place and we would definitely seek this place out when we return to the area.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room or suite.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysten R, General Manager at The Emerson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Joy,

Thank you so much for writing this review for us! We're happy to hear that we were able to give you a memorable experience at The Emerson Inn. While we do not have mini fridges in the room we do have a few onsite that we can put into your guest room if you would like one so please let us know the next time you're traveling to see us and we can have one in your room ready for you. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We had 50 guests at the Emerson Inn for a weekend birthday party. We have been going to the Emerson Inn for 30 years. Recently the rooms and bathrooms have all been tastefully modernized. Under new management, the food and service are top quality. They go out of their way to please guests and accommodate unusual requests. The jazz band which they recommended was terrific. The lobster dinner was lauded by many regular lobster-eaters as the best they have had in a long time. My guests and I will return often to this beautiful place.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the ocean. There are no elevators so be prepared to walk up if you are on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysten R, General Manager at The Emerson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Suzy,

Thank you for this lovely review! We had a great time hosting your family and friends and are glad to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves at The Emerson Inn. Take care and we hope to see you all back at the Inn soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We stayed for a night early in the season, and were pleased with the stay...Great location, close to town but distant enough to minimize noise. Staff was attentive and courteous! Try to stay on the 3rd floor if possible...no lift, but we didn't mind the stairs in the least.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysten R, General Manager at The Emerson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Brian - Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write this review! We're happy to hear that you had a good time on your vacation to Rockport. Please come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We just returned from my son’s wedding at the Emerson Inn by the Sea. Starting at check in all the way through the wedding three days later, we had an amazing time! The rooms were immaculate and the beds very comfortable, and we had a beautiful ocean front view. The rehearsal/ welcome dinner on Friday evening was beautiful! The food was excellent and the room looked so warm and welcoming to all the family and friends attending. The daily breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
The wedding day was picture perfect weather. The wedding coordinator Candace, along with her team of workers, converted the parlor into a dance floor and decorated the dining room which was breath taking with candles and votives sparkling on the tables. In a very short span of time, Candace and her team of workers transformed the dining room with amazing detail! The bar tenders were fabulous as they prepared signature drinks for the guests. Rachael was so helpful in getting all out flowers & butonaires fastened perfectly.
When we continued on to the after party, Candace took the time to painstakingly wrap picture frames and candlesticks for our return journey. She was awesome! What more can I say ... great staff, outstanding venue, comfy beds, and delicious food made it a magical weekend!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kate3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysten R, General Manager at The Emerson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Kate - Thank you for all of your kind words! It was our pleasure hosting your son's wedding at The Emerson Inn and we had such a marvelous time celebrating the weekend with all of your family and friends. Candice is an amazing Sales & Events Manager and we're so happy to have her on our team and I'm happy to hear from you that you were pleased with her work. Please keep in touch and visit us often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Wow! Where do I start with this review! Let me start with Rachel at the front desk. She was so warm, accommodating and inviting! Thanks Rachel, Christine and Meagan for making my birthday extra special! The room was immaculate. The bed was very, very comfortable. The ocean view was awesome! Breakfast biffet was excellent! The Trail along the ocean and rock scenery was amazing! I will definitely stay again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Prophetess Sand... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysten R, General Manager at The Emerson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Hi there - thank you for spending your birthday with us and for taking the time to review us as well! We really enjoyed having you on property and we hope that your birthday was a success. I will pass along your regards to the rest of our team, thank you for recognizing their hard work. We will see you the next time you come to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews