We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect! Home from home but with great weather”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Clos du Magnolia

Enjoy meals outdoors, by the pool and in a lovely Mediterranean garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy meals outdoors, by the pool and in a lovely Mediterranean garden
Your entrance to Gite Magnolia, with it's own garden space and use of the nearby herb garden Open-plan kitchen and lounge area. TV/DVD, books and games provided
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Enjoy meals outdoors, by the pool and in a lovely Mediterranean garden
Your entrance to Gite Magnolia, with it's own garden space and use of the nearby herb garden
Open-plan kitchen and lounge area. TV/DVD, books and games provided
Fully-equipped kitchen with oven, dishwasher, fridge, microwave etc
Sitting area with ceiling fan for keeping cool in the summer, plus good heating for winter visits.
Light-filled double room with views over the garden and pool
New for 2015 - 3 mountains bikes for adults available for hire. Great for on and off-road trails.
This is spring cycling in Herault. Sunny and dry. Come and discover this for yourself!
New season asparagus and strawberries are a highlight of visiting the nearby markets in Spring.
Plenty of secure space for bicycles, motorbikes, kayaks etc; perfect ways to explore this great area
Have Mediterranean meals under the fragrant and shady magnolia tree
Spacious salle d'eau
Roquebrun and flowering mimosa. There is a Fete de Mimosa every February; a bright spot for winter
Autumn in the vineyards, the stunning landscape is a great time to visit for walks or cycling.
Spring blossom in the Gite Magnolia garden. It is a lovely time to visit.
The nearby River Orb, in beautiful autumn colours.
You'll be in France - so there is always plenty of garlic, shallots and onions on sale!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Causses et Veyran, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
80zeljko
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect! Home from home but with great weather”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from 8 days at Gites Magnolia with a stop at Orleans en route. Our sat nav lead us through lots of tiny villages with no sign of life and we were all getting very concerned at what we would find on our arrival. After knocking at a run down house with no answer we realised we were in the wrong road. We drove back down the hill and found our delightful oasis. A word of advice don't turn off the motorway until at Beziers. Gites magnolia is a very homely, well equipped holiday home with a lovely garden and pool. Plenty of shade under the fabulous magnolia tree and umbrellas and plenty of sun beds and chairs for basking in the sun. Jane and Merv were extremely friendly and helpful yet allowed us to have our own privacy at all times. We went to beaches first full day but were disappointed with lack of basic facilities ie wash your hands after toilets We got back to our little oasis and stayed there for the rest of the holiday enjoying the pool and all the comfort. We brought our own barbecue and had few nights of healthy eating and drinking. Our teenage girls loved being there as they had internet and could keep in contact with friends as well as full comfort of home and beautiful weather We did this type of holiday first time ( always hotels before or mobile homes in France) and it's definitely the best way to be in south of France If you want to be in the crowd it's half hour drive or have your own space. Local people were very friendly so overall experience was fabulous. Highly recommended for families or couples

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Bad weather on one day
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srithanu
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven with plenty of action within a short drive”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We agree with prev reviews...will try to leave other info. It is a lovely home from home. Shower very nice, comfy beds, pool towels provided as well as books,DVD's and games. Village has Nouna Bar which we liked - daily set menu and seafood tapas as well as friendly locals. Also a boules court. Swimming at nearby Roquebrun was great and a welcome difference from the med beaches (only tried one but was not that impressed). Canoeing on the Orb was exhilarating. Jane and Merv are lovely hosts...on hand for any advice and the welcome wine and cheese were much appreciated. The garden is a wonderful setting....peaceful and at all times of the day you can find sun or shade in at least one area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can we say 2? The pool and the bar Nouna a short walk away
Liked least: The med beach we visited
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to explore and relax.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed with wife, son (12 yrs old) and daughter (22 months) for 2 weeks. Good facilities. Loved the pool and the location was good for exploring this region. Jane and Merv were great hosts and offered friendly advice. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool!
Liked least: Lack of facilities in the village.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderers...
American River
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Great place to spend a while”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed as a family with Jane and Merv who were the most helpful of hosts .with Janes local knowledge she helped us to find our way around to the beach and river Orb for canoeing - a must !!! as well as local shops amenities etc
One of the family being a cyclist Mervs knowledge and expertise came to the fore to enjoy really pleasant bike riding in the area
The thing that impressed us was the friendliness and welcome for us when we arrived. After travelng for days in lots of different accommodation each night the gite was was like home in our travels
The gite was clean modern and comfortable with the pool as a great extra to cool off and
the local food goodies for us to enjoy upon our arrival was a great touch.......!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quier
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home with wonderful owners”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I visited the gite at the beginning of October this year. On route from the airport we called in at the supermarket to buy some supplies for the week, but really wished we hadn't. Jane, the owner had very kindly laid on fresh milk, bread, butter, cheese, preserves and a lovely fresh fruit basket. Previous holiday makers had also left lots of bits and pieces (olive oil, balsamic vinegar, tea bags etc.). We also found a lovely depot de pain (bread shop) about 100 yards up the road to buy fresh croissants in the morning. There are also several local markets throughout the week to buy all sorts of delicious cured meats, olives, artisan breads and lovely fresh fruit and veg. Most of what we bought at the supermarket didn't get used.

The gite is lovely with everything you could need during your holiday. All the fixtures and fittings are to a high standard, and the beds very comfortable; just what you need on relaxing holiday. One of the highlights for me was having breakfast each morning under the magnolia tree which is the central feature of the garden. It was lovely to sit and have a chinwag and a cup of tea with Merv and Jane, who have a vast knowledge of the local area and pointed us in the direction of some super walks in stunningly beautiful countryside. It was also great to get back at the end of a walk and swim in the pool which was very refreshing.

About 100 yards up the road is the village square with a very friendly little bar/restaurant which is run be Rene and Patricia. They are very friendly and accommodating and although the menu is quite limited, the food is lovely and very reasonably priced. The bar is also used by all the locals who are also very friendly.

On the subject of food, take the opportunity to have an evening meal at the gite. Jane is a SUPERB cook.

All in all, a lovely place, lovely owners and we will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing