We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! Fantastic accommodation, hosts and location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
A ten minute drive away, Stithians Lake offers a great day out, on and off the water
A little further away, Newlyn is the largest fishing port in England
Explore one of Henry VIII's finest coastal fortresses, Pendennis Castle
Watch the sun go down at Porthleven with a refreshing drink at the Ship Inn
St. Ives and the nearby Carbis Bay are a lovely day out
Falmouth has the world's third largest deep-water harbour and is renowned for the arts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porkellis, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
megsie007
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic accommodation, hosts and location!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I have just spent a fantastic long weekend here and I would definitely recommend it to everyone.The Barn is immaculate, extremely comfortable and well equipped with top quality “everything”! I slept better than in my own bed!
There was a welcome pack of lovely local bread, eggs, butter, milk and tea and also coffee for the Nespresso coffee machine which was a thoughtful welcoming touch.
The seating area outside is a little suntrap and the accommodation is such a bonus being only 5 steps from the pub which also houses the village shop for essentials and local products. Anthony and Andrew and their gorgeous dogs were the perfect hosts, so friendly and welcoming and a wealth of knowledge on the local area.
The location is ideal for exploring Lands End, Lizard Point etc and convenient for both the North and South coast beaches.
We wished we could have stayed longer and we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
It was a pleasure to welcome you both and we look forward to seeing you again soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvs2266
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We all loved our stay at The Barn at the Star Inn. The accommodation was fantastic and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming, offering great advice if asked. There was plenty of space for our family of four. It was very modern and had everything we needed. It was great having a pub so close by, which also conveniently housed the 'village shop'. We all wished we were staying longer, and hope to return soon. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
It was a pleasure to meet the four of you and we are really pleased that you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWilsonTu...
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Fantastic Welcome”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We arrived at the barn with our two little girls for a much needed short half-term break. Our hosts were very warm and welcoming and the apartment absolutely perfect. Every detail had been thought of to make weary travellers feel at home down to locally sourced bread and butter and eggs for breakfast. It was a marvellous introduction to the beauty and hospitality of Cornwall for our two children. Would highly recommend to all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
We are so glad that you had a great holiday and it was pleasure to welcome you all. We can't wait to see you all again! A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunopdec
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely barn - Highly recommend”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were pleasantly surprised by this cosily renovated barn in a great location for exploring this area. It came equipped with everything we needed for a self-catering stay and more. The lack of internet in the property was a slight nuisance but for a short stay it was good to be liberated from laptops. Thank you very much for the complimentary bread, butter and milk (very unexpected) and for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well renovated in a great location
Liked least: No internet in the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thanks for your comments and feedback. We understand there is no internet in the property itself. We do provide free access to an up to 75mbps service in our pub opposite. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralieFi...
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights just me and my boyfriend for a little Pre-Baby holiday. Was lovely, lovely location and lovely place. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we'd love to come again. Thank-you for a lovely place to stay! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2015
We are so pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again with the little one! A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing