We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Clam Chowdah”
Review of Black Cat Tavern

Black Cat Tavern
Ranked #16 of 214 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our casual waterfront restaurant is located right on the docks of Hyannis Harbor across from the Hy-Line ferries. Dine inside, where the look is all about classic seaside style, or outside on our heated patio while watching the boats sail in and out of the harbor. The menu features everything from thick, juicy burgers and garden-fresh salads to fresh native seafood and prime beef. Visit the Black Cat Tavern, year-round favorite among locals and visitors alike. Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch with entertainment four nights a week in the lounge. Plenty of free parking with valet service offered for your convenience.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Ate here our first night, service was good and food was delicious. Located on main Street down by the wharf. Several people went back a second time.

Thank RAQL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Owner at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

It's award-winning for a reason! Thanks so much for your awesome review. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 161 of 2 001 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

On vacation with family; grandparents, parents, teens and kids and everyone was extremely pleased with their meal. We stopped for lunch. We had a nice view of Hyannis Harbor. I had Lazy Man’s Lobster served with Newburg Sauce and it was incredible. The lobster was perfectly prepared. My husband raved about his Seafood Scampi and my 9 year old ordered the Tuna steak and cleaned her plate! My parents ordered the Lobster Risotto to split and were impressed with the portion size. It was creamy, savory and full of lobster. It has been our favorite meal during our Cape Cod vacation. The wait staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. We will be going back later this week.

Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Owner at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

What a delicious choice! Thanks so much for sharing and the awesome feedback of our menu items. Reviews like yours are what keeps others coming back! Thanks, Julie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We visited this restaurant twice. It is waterfront with great service, food, and prices. We all enjoyed our choices both times. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Owner at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks for the recommendation, Sandra! We appreciate your review! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Seriously skeptical when we ordered the steak tips but they were fantastic! Moist, flavorful and not salty! The double burger was huge and packed with onion rings, cheddar and bacon. The salads were good, but adding any type of protein raised the salads, that were already pricey, another $5 /$10. Other than the salad sticker shock, we'd go back. By the way, please skip the crispy chicken wings! They aren't that good and they were not worth $12!

Thank MelissaG3605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Owner at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Melissa! Glad you enjoyed your steak tips and burger! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Dinner last night at black cat. Only restaurant we saw that had steamers on their menu which I had & were great. Fried oysters platter was crispy, not greasy and juicy oysters. Their clam chowder is the best we had while at the cape. My husband had the black cat double stack burger which was no great shakes. I was disappointed as their online menu advised they served tuna tartare however the server advised they no longer serve it. We had a Bloody Marys at the shack next door while waiting for our table. Good wine list & appropriately priced for dinner. Other reviewers complained of service however we didn’t experience any of that with hostess or wait staff at the restaurant.

Thank jingi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Owner at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks for your kind words and feedback! We will be sure to update our menu online - thanks for pointing that out. Glad you enjoyed your meal and service. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cat Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Black Cat Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing