We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific place for creating wonderful family...”

Review of 5 Captain Crocker

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with island Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Kitchen with island
Living room
Bedroom with 2 twin beds
Bedroom with 1 full and 1 twin bed
Bedroom with Queen bed
Bathroom
View of cottage as you arrive
Views from deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
East Sandwich, Sandwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jojonow63
Genoa, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific place for creating wonderful family memories!”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Private beach at doorstep, beautiful view, family friendly accommodations. Perfect for kids! Hope to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Vacation”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I cannot say enough good things about this beach house rental. I have rented other properties with other realtors and this is by far the best. Sand Dollar Realty was more than accommodating and everyone I spoke to was so friendly and helpful. The house was so nice and clean with a beautiful updated kitchen. Everything was so nicely stocked so we were able to make gourmet meals with no problem. We were so impressed with the cleanliness and how wonderfully they took care of this little beauty on the ocean. We also loved the amount of space for all our guests and the location could not be more perfect! We were in our own little oasis with the private beach and the quaint little town of Sandwich. We will definitely be returning next summer and would suggest this property to anyone in need of a relaxing getaway. Thank you Sand Dollar Realty for making our vacation so spectacular!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobeTrot...
1 review
“The Best Beachfront Casual Living”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Awesome week spent at 5 Captain Crocker. The cottage had everything we needed. This is a no frills casual living place that fit our family perfectly. So close (steps) to the private beach makes this place a hidden jewel. Can't wait to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location to the beach
Liked least: living room furniture and deck furniture could use updating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby W
1 review
“Beautiful view, the house is a dump ...”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Unfortunately, this beautiful setting was ruined by soiled cushions, dirty rugs, disgusting kitchen with food crusted on 'clean' utensils and pots in the cabinets, crumbs and dirt in the drawers, rust and corrosion under the kitchen sink. The closets and cabinets were filled with hardware and painting supplies and they used a shelf/eave above the kitchen to store old broken fans, lamps and any other debris that they didn't throw away. We own a home in this wonderful beach community and have been renting for additional family for many years, but would never rent that dump again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
We are sorry you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your rental. When you called initially, we offered to sent the owners cleaners back to take care of the issues that you brought up, You did not want that service nor did you want us to come in to verify your complaints. There should not have been any dirty pots and pans and if it was really that much of a bother that you would write a bad review about your neighbors home, it certainly was appropriate for you to accept the cleaners return to take care of your complaints. Its unfortunate that the stuff that they store in a utility closet and on a lofted area that is not for tenant use was a bother to you. As you are aware, this house is on stilts and does not have a basement to store paint cans etc..Your house down the street has a basement area that you are able to hide your tools a little better but anyone opening all the doors will find them too. Frankly, if you have a problem with a property and there is no attempt to correct it, you have every right to complain online about it and call it a dump, but to diss your own neighbors home after refusing an offer to make it right is not fair. I Know that you rent your property too, how would you feel if someone had a problem that you offered to correct and after rejecting the your offer called it a dump online in order to hurt your future rentals. This place is most certainly not a dump.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLou2...
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beachfront location in a very nice house.”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was my very first trip to Cape Cod and I went in the off-season, the week before Memorial Day. I stayed in this really nice property right on Cape Cod Bay. At night, when it was very clear, I could see all the way from Plymouth around to the lighthouse at Provincetown. It was a terrific place from which to travel to and explore all parts of the Cape. And a great place for a good night's sleep and some drop-dead sunsets.

Dinner on the deck was a true delight with the sound of waves and gulls as company. If you want some peace and quiet, you can't go wrong here. The kitchen was recently remodeled, except the refrigerator. It really could use a new refrigerator. Other than that, the kitchen is nicely furnished with all the dishes, pots and pans you need.

The living room looks right out onto the sea, both through the picture window and through the storm door. What a wonderful, relaxing place to be. The bedrooms weren't huge, but they are adequately sized since I didn't really spend much waking time in them! And there is one bath - not big, but enough room. You do need to bring your own towels and bed linens or arrange to have them delivered. Since I drove up to the Cape, I didn't find that to be a problem.

I've seen some reviews that suggest there aren't many tv channels. I didn't find that to be true at all. To the contrary the tv channels were plentiful. All sorts of ESPN, Hallmark, broadcast networks, geography channels, history, movies and news. It was more than adequate especially for a vacation house! In addition, the wi-fi service was A-1.

The exterior needs painting, but then, I know it's right on the water and took a beating over the winter. Besides, I wasn't buying the place!

The dining table sits right in the picture window and is a lovely place from which to see the sea. I loved having breakfast there in the morning when it was a bit windy and then taking my coffee out to the deck to enjoy the breeze.

The only entrances, both front and rear, do have lots of stairs so this is not a good property if stairs are a problem. Also, the stairs to the beach had been destroyed in a storm. In order to get down to the beach, I had to walk down the street and use the neighborhood stairs. That was a bit inconvenient and the main reason I nearly gave this only 4 stars.

The people at Sand Dollar were wonderful to deal with - accommodating, never tiring of answering my many (possibly stupid) questions. They gave me suggestions on restaurants and places to see in Sandwich.

I would love to go back to this property and would definitely want to be located in East Sandwich again. This is a delightful property in a delightful area. I only hope the stairs are back in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location!
Liked least: The missing stairs, the refrigerator and the arm chair.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing