We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely quiet getaway”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Par 4 - Villa 24

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montana La Data, Gran Canaria, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
English first
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
person found this review helpful

We are staying in Sheraton Salobre golf resort PAR4 villas 23 & 24. We have come away for my fathers 65th bday & there's 12 of us in my family, so we have two villas next to each other. The villas themselves were nice to look at and are well kitted out! However there is No bath in either villa, as advertised which we needed for the smaller children (or bathrobes). The Wifi drops all the time, so impossible to work from here.
The shelves in Fridge are broken. The Beds have rock hard mattresses & Pillows too.
The Heated Pool is almost too cold to use in February - its mildly tepid, which might be better in the height of summer when it's hotter, but they should look into seasonal changes for heating it. This could be because the villa 23 Garden is in shade of the house at all times and is impossible to sunbathe so pool doesn't get as much sun? Luckily we used next door garden to sunbathe in villa 24. The Coffee machine leaked every time we used it spilling hot coffee onto floor which was only so bad for us because We had toddlers & small children I guess.

All of these minor infractions we could have happily ignored and not had it bother our family holiday, but the Monday after we arrived a HORRENDOUSLY LOUD excavator started cutting into the stone of the hillside right next to our villas!!!

We reported this to the Customer service at James villas who didn't seem to care, neither did Gran Canaria villas - we were offered a sub standard shared pool villa but no real apology or attempt to do anything about it. I cannot begin to explain how irritatingly loud and annoying this constant banging was, as it shook the whole villa and went on from 0900 am till 1800pm every day - all day Monday to Friday.

The work has only just started this week apparently, so looks like it will be going on for some time!

If this was mere construction / building noise I would understand why they might not mention it before we booked, as it would hardly be noticeable but I kid you not when I say it shook the whole ground all day every day!!!

Luckily ... my family always make the best of things and we just went out for lots of days out & still managed to have a great time, but if you're planning on a relaxing trip beside your own pool... this is not the villa for you!!!

We visited Mogan beach which was aptly called little Venice due to canal ways & beautiful houses & narrow lanes - typically Canarian & highly recommended! Maspalomas beach however was horrendously chavvy & just rows upon rows of sun beds Irish pubs & awful dirty restaurants serving all day English breakfast. We found one nice place to eat there which was Papis Grill - lovely Spanish staff with gorgeous food & funky Buddha style music chilling in background.

Aqualand was being renovated when we went yesterday, so a lot of the toddler stuff is out of action, meaning only the big slides remained! These were 1m and over only and pretty damn scary! My 5yo is very outgoing but she struggled to keep from crying.

The golf resort with the villas on itself was lovely and you cannot hear the noise across the whole estate (which is why we asked to move). We might have thought about returning again had the customer service not been so unashamedly disinterested in our noise situation.

Also there is only one key per villa so if sharing between families, it is much harder to organise logistically.

I will post pics & videos of the excavation diggers, but you still can't get an idea of how loud it felt as the noise came up through the floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review, all critics help us improve.

First of all we would like you to know we weren't aware of this. Building works started apparently last Thursday and we weren't informed until this Monday. Had we known, we would have of course informed you before coming.

The usual procedure would be to move you to another house, but unfortunately, we did not have any available.

As per your other complaints we would like you to stablish they are mostly for Par 4 Villa 23 which does not belong to us neither is managed by us.

We have contacted James Villas, the touroperator you booked with, with regards to a compensation, as we are not allowed to contact you directly.

We would like to show you our good will and although a compensation will not diminish the noise and hassle suffered, we hope it helps to understand this situation is beyond our control and this is not the way we work.

Again, we apologise for all inconveniences suffered, and we are happy to hear you are still having a nice vacation in spite of the construction works.

Best regards,

Customer Support
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata B
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet getaway”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Booked with Villa Gran Canaria who were very helpful and fast to respond to my many queries about the villa. Beautifully clean and the best 'welcome pack' we have ever had, it was very much appreciated as we arrived late at night.

Fantastic views, slept very well as it was so peaceful, husband enjoyed the pool.

I would have preferred more British channels as they tended to cater more for the german population so if you like your tv then I suggest you bring dvd's.

Good wifi, comfortable sofas. Last but not least, fresh bread delivered daily, what more could you want??

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the pool area - very private
Liked least: towels were too hard, no British channels apart from BBC world
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing