We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent interaction with the owner; perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front and north side of W Melson house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front and north side of W Melson house
Park and Harbor one-half block away from house Front of W Melson House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Front and north side of W Melson house
Park and Harbor one-half block away from house
Front of W Melson House
South side of W Melson house with patio with table and chairs in middle
Side Patio adjacent kitchen
Front of Melson House on Locust St.
South side of Melson House
Living Room with Fireplace
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Family Room with queen sleep sofa
Family Room
Family Room
Family Room
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
South Side of House with parking in rear
Rear of house
Park and Harbor One Half  Block Away
House plaque
House plaque
St Michaels harbor view from park half block from house
Park half block from house
Front of House
Front of W Melson house
W Melson house with T Blades house to the right
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St. Michaels, Talbot County, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandandoc...
Brielle NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent interaction with the owner; perfect location in historic St. Michaels.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Blades House is a mixture of original and updated architecture. It has 2 bedrooms. 1 with a queen bed and 1 with a full sized bed and a twin that was very low (under a slanted ceiling). The bathrooms and kitchen are new and very nice. Great screened porch on the rear of the house. Walking distance to a restaurant on the water and to shopping/churches. The owner was very easy to work with and the cottage was as described. If you like privacy and convenience, this the place for you. One suggestion - curtains or blinds in the front bedroom would be helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Outstanding rental”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This cottage is perfectly located in the heart of St. Michael's and is a short walk from the harbor. The cottage is very well furnished and roomy, and is quite charming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EZGoingTr...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay in St. Michaels”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in May 2013

From the moment you drive onto the crushed shell driveway, you can just feel yourself becoming a part of this lovely community. This particular house is the perfect venue for a getaway with friends and family. convenient to the shops and restaurants on Talbot and the harbor itself. You can engage with the town or make dinner on your own to enjoy on the lovely patio just off the kitchen. There is a small grocery store in town and a larger one near the bypass in Easton where one can also find Hair o'the Dog liquor store which stocks a very impressive selection of craft beers. If you are not inclined to cook, walk over to Big Al's to get a bag of freshly steamed crabs or other local seafood. It will still be hot when you rip open the bag on the patio of this lovely home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and overall fit/finsih of the house, it was perfect for us.
Liked least: The shower curtain in the upstairs bathroom hangs low but that's the only remotely imperfect thing one could say about this rental.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
moutonhid...
Olney, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable, spacious enough, and old-style”
Reviewed 5 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

After a snaffu from the renter, the W. Melson wasn't available. The renter also owns the house next door, a (very similar) 1850 sailor's house called Blades' house, so he offered that one to us instead. Because it was all so last minute, we weren't sure if we were jerked around, or if this was legit, or what... It felt somewhat uncomfortable at first... Turns out, we accepted the renter's switch, and Blade's house was great!! I do recommend it. So, if this happens to you too, the owner is trustworthy. The location is great, of course, on a tranquil side street leading to the harbor, park, and main street in no time at all. Beautiful. We really enjoyed the decor, especially the antique-looking fixtures. The house was CLEAN, eventhough our renting it was so last minute (due to our house switch): kitchen, baths, and linen were clean. We truly appreciated that. Beds were very comfortable (even with my bad back) which made our stay very relaxing. Cable TV had limited choices, but it was totally OK with us: We brought and watched DVDs (there is a DVD player which is not listed in the amenities). WIFI worked great. It was January, so we also enjoyed the fireplace A LOT!! I would only make a couple of suggestions to the owner: a) the dishwasher is wobbly, it needs to be anchored (It worked fine for us, though, no problem) b) Bathroom faucets are wobbly, they need to be tightened up (not a problem for our use) c) the kitchen could use a few more spoons, etc, as our hungry family of 4 kept running out of silverware... :) But if you tend to eat out a lot, that should not be a problem for you... Other than that, our stay at the Blades house was thoroughly enjoyed by all, young and old. We appreciated and used the (clean) microwave, oven, fridge, dishwasher, washer/dryer, TV, DVD, Wifi, fireplace, etc... All was in order, and made for a great happy-family get-away weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, quaint decor, cleanliness, spaciousness
Liked least: We disliked nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing