We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Getaway with Friends”

Review of Double Diamonds

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
McHenry, Garrett County, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NaptownJe...
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing / Overated”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My Mom always said don't judge a book by its cover... While the online pictures of this property looked terrific, there was a much different story upon our arrival.
Bathrooms and Kitchen were filthy - had to go buy cleaning supplies to wipe down feces splattered toilets upon arrival - dirty bathroom rugs
Broken Hot Tub - took 3 days to fix
Internet / Cable TV service is spotty and inconsistent at best (remote controls had dead batteries)
Upstairs bathtub wouldn't hold water for kids to bathe
Upstairs crank style windows would open / but not shut - had to remove screens to pull closed
Kitchen dishes and pans were put away dirty and greasy - had to rewash just to use
Broken towel hooks in the master bath
and the list of little things goes on and on. Everywhere we turned there was something else not right.
We rented this house through Railey Mountain Lake Vacations - they could have cared less about these issues and in the end offered only $100 off the cost of the home for all of our inconvenience. Total Joke - will never rent through them again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
Hello-

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We strive to impress all of our guests with the home's cleanliness, quality, and care and it is disappointing to hear that we were not able to live up to that high standard for your visit. We are reviewing the details of your stay across each of our department to ensure that your experience is not shared with future guests. We apologize that you were disappointed in your stay.

Thanks,
Your Friends at Railey Mountain Lake Vacations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40liketot...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Getaway with Friends”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great location with spectacular views! The kitchen was well equipped. It was great having extra refrigerators and separate ice maker. The uneven temperature is something worth looking in to. The downstairs was freezing and upstairs was so hot we had the windows open to sleep comfortably. I would also hire a different cleaning company. The vent above the stove was covered in dust and someone had actually drawn pictures on it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Double Diamonds! It does have a spectacular view. Please note that we will get that vent cleaned asap! Let us know when you are ready to plan your next Deep Creek Lake escape and we will be glad to assist you!
~ Railey Mountain Lake Vacations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Reviewed 18 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MD
Reviewed 5 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Md.
Reviewed 8 December 2010 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing