We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“50th Wedding Anniversary celebration at Highland...”

Review of Highland Manor

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
McHenry, Garrett County, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Penny B
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
“50th Wedding Anniversary celebration at Highland Manor a success!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We really enjoyed our week at Highland Manor celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with family. Highland Manor is a beautiful home with a fantastic location which was perfect for our active family. In our travels around the lake we did not see a home or location we would have preferred. The large kitchen provided space for several people to work at the same time. Everyone took advantage of the pool table and foosball table-lots of competitions. The house is large enough to provide privacy for all. The swimming pool and hot tub were an extra bonus as well.
Our children arranged with a local caterer to prepare an anniversary dinner for us served right at the house. This was a perfect way to have a special dinner for the 7 adults and 4 young children.
The owner, Laurie Cohn, was delightful to work with. She answered all questions quickly and gave great suggestions about the many activities in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jrunher
Olney, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility nestled in the mountains of MD”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed with friends at this rental property twice---it's that good! We love the views, the large rooms, and location. It is easy to get to from the Washington, DC area. For those who want more than the pool, deck and hot tub at the house, Deep Creek has a lot to offer year round. I highly recommend it for weekend away or a vacation.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signer_in...
Lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome week!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We took a week this summer with extended family and instead of heading to the beach, found this home in western Maryland. The home accommodated us very well with the various families and children. The kitchen was awesome, and the pool/hot tub area was a wonderful addition. Our time was spent inside, walking in the neighborhood, hiking, kyaking, and boating at the lake, riding bike, visiting Swallow Falls, etc. Tried the white water rafting -- great place! All in all, it was a great family vacation!

The only negative comment or suggestion for the future, is for what I will call the kids bedroom -- the one with a double bed, twin bunk and futon. We used each of those beds and with three children in that small room, it was very tight. A simple dresser with drawers would be helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing