We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Billed as best lobster rolls in Maine. Not so”
Review of Red's Eats

Red's Eats
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Home of Maine's #1 Lobster Roll!! Proudly serving fresh, local seafood, burgers, steaks, chicken, hotdogs, onion rings, deep fried zucchini, homemade gluten free breads, whoopie pies, blueberry cake, Green Bee Honey Sodas, Round Top ice cream and much more! Outdoor seating at the edge of the beautiful Sheepscot River.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We spent ten days traveling in Maine and had 5 or 6 lobster rolls
Everyone was delicious if slightly different.

Red's probably has the biggest pieces of lobster and the largest amount of lobster, but you pay for it and there are no sides

The big pieces make the roll difficult to eat because it's hard to bite through bun and lobster, particularly because lobster falls off the bun.

The only flavoring is drawn butter that comes in a cup not mixed into the lobster ahead of time.

Speaking of time, we stopped on our way to a boat trip. It was pouring rain and there were dozens of people in line. After waiting in line for 45 minutes and not yet having placed our order we left for our boat trip.

On our way back to our hotel we stopped again to get this famous lobster roll. This time the crowds were much less and it only took a half hour to get our roll. Tasty, but not significantly better than any other we had, messy, and the wait was rediculous

1  Thank edieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Red's Eats, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear edieann,
Thank you for visiting Red's Eats. We appreciate each and every guest. We continue to work hard to make Maine proud. I applaud you for visiting so many businesses while in our beautiful state! We all work hard to make your visits memorable! So happy that you found our roll tasty….it sure is! Our best always edieann!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 1 658 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This place is awesome. Of course, everyone know Red’s for their lobster roll. As they should be. It’s by far the biggest roll you will get in Maine (by far) oh and its priced like every other roll out there. The main difference is, you get three times the amount of lobster at Red’s. When you ask them how much lobster do they put on, they reply until we think it looks full.

Now what people don’t tell you is their scallops are to die for, the onion rings are fried goodness and the zucchini fries are massive (get the ranch). They sell a hot dog for a dollar, nice touch for the kids.

We finished off with a Whoopi’s pie. Perfect finish for a fantastic meal that isn’t pretentious.

A must check out. It’s also super refreshing that the employees are lovely and nice.

Enjoy!!!

Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Red's Eats, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you Jeremy G!!
That means the World to us! We're so happy that you enjoy Red's Eats and that you have had a chance to try other menu items! We truly are so proud of all the food that goes out of our little window! Even the hotdogs are top shelf....black angus and my Dad's favorite :)
Truly appreciate you Jeremy and for you taking the time to write your review. Best Always!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

First, cash only. No credit or debit cards. A real inconvenience.

The lobster roll is huge and it is the real thing. Excellent. The blueberry cake is also very good.

The 40 minute wait was worth it. Nice to talk with people in line. Very friendly.

A real Maine experience.

Thank rogerjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Red's Eats, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear rogerjm,
Thank you for your visit and review!
I hope that you will visit us again!
Best Always!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Oh. My. goodness!! This is our first visit to Maine and Red’s Eats came highly recommended from everyone we talked to.

We stopped for an early dinner about 5:00pm and got right in.

This was our first Lobster Roll and my husband and I shared it. It was HUGE!! I could not believe the amount of Lobster that was gently stuffed into that glorious, buttery, bun. It was heavenly. Then they gave you this warm, melted butter to dip the lobster in. Worth the money and experience!

My kids had the hot dog with small fries and the other had the chicken tenders basket.

My parents were with us and they ordered the fried zucchini and onion rings. The zucchini had a thick batter on it that was so good.

You MUST get the Blueberry Cake! It was a huge piece of cake topped with whipped cream. The cake easily served 4 of us.

Great atmosphere as well. We set on the bottom level deck and the sweet employees kept coming to check on us. They brought us more butter and more napkins. Nice touch for a casual place like this.

You order from the window and they will call your number. It was a beautiful day out so we stayed there to eat. Bucket list item for sure!

Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Red's Eats, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Carrie G....Your review makes us so happy and proud! Thank you for visiting with your family! We're so happy that you enjoyed Red's Eats! I hope we get the chance to see you again. Best Always!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

I came at 5:30 on a weekend and the line was relatively short. The wait apparently is always long for the # of people in line. Had the lobster roll. Its taste was not particularly any better than some other rolls I’ve had in Maine; the difference is the AMOUNT of lobster on it. There were 2 tails plus plenty of large pieces. This may be the most lobster I’ve ever had in one sitting. So, it was worth it. The blueberry cake is better in the photo.

Thank anmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Red's Eats, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear anmd…..Thank you for visiting! We are very proud of all of our food and happy that you agree that it was worth it. Lobster can be very tricky...it can be undercooked or overcooked. Freshness is of ultimate importance as well. Thanks for taking the time to write your review too! Best Always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red's Eats also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Red's Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing