We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Time Well Spent”
The Day Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Day Cottage
Our beach and ocean Sunset from the porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Day Cottage
Our beach and ocean
Sunset from the porch
a great place to read, relax and nap
The morning sun is so welcoming
First floor bedroom
Double doors open on to the porch
Enjoy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Trenton, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tranquiln...
Beavercreek, Ohio
2 reviews
“Time Well Spent”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Day Cottage. We were greeted by John and Teresa who gave us a tour of the cottage and made us feel very welcome. The cabin is immaculate and has every convenience. The screened in porch with the wicker rockers is where I spent much time with my novel. It has wonderful ambiance overlooking the water. My husband and I did night sky gazing and were fascinated seeing the international space station. I even saw my very first shooting star! Being situated in Trenton, the cabin is close to Ellsworth, Bar Harbor, and Acadia. Every day was an adventure! I can't list everything we did but I can say watching the sunset across the water was a perfect ending to each day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAntonett...
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
“Slice of Heaven!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our family had been looking forward to our first trip to Maine and our stay at the Day Cottage for months, and it was everything we hoped for... and more! Teresa and John greeted us upon arrival, offered a tour of the charming cottage, and gave lots of wonderful tips regarding places to eat and things to do! The cottage itself is a true oasis -- where you can relax on the wraparound porch, look out on the beautiful ocean, enjoy the coming and going of the tide, rest on the deck and walk just a few steps down to touch your toes in the sea, climb Big Rock, kayak, or "search for treasure" on the beach. At night, the "love boat" deck is the perfect spot to gaze up at a star-filled sky, and if you're lucky, spot shooting stars and even the space station zoom by! Everything is very well-maintained and offers a step back in history while, at the same time, provides all the amenities a family could ask for. We thoroughly enjoyed our down time at the cottage as well as lots of excursions into the breathtaking Acadia National Park, which is only a 20-minute drive from the cottage. I think our kids summed it up best when they said, "We wish we could take the cottage and the ocean back home with us!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Reading your review brings happiness to our heart...
you are now part of the joyful history that fills the DAY COTTAGE.
Please consider returning to your new vacation spot. We will welcome you as family.
till we meet again,
John and Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz F
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spotless cottage with breath-taking views.”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Day Cottage with our two teenage children for a week. It was a wonderful cottage right out of the Maine magazines. The cottage is very private and directly on the beach. The water was crystal clear and the air smelled amazing! Although we didn't feel it was hot enough to swim we did sit outside on the deck. Our week was so relaxing at the cottage as well as the time we spent at Acadia. We hiked and spent a few days touring the island. I would definitley recommend this rental for its location and I can't say enough about the quality of the bedding and cleanliness overall. Teresa and John are very gracious hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review...we love sharing it with our wonderful guests.
Please think about returning and we will welcome you back to your vacation spot.
Till we meet again,
John and Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J
Concord
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Downeast Vacation Yet!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have been visiting Acadia and Mount Desert almost every year for 25 years; mostly camping. This is our first experience renting a cottage. It was our best Downeast vacation yet.

We thought we would use the cottage as a base for our usual sojourns to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. We did manage to hike Pemetic Mountain one day and bike the carriage roads another. But we found ourselves just wanting to hang out at Day Cottage on the huge screen porch or on the deck at the waterfront. It was difficult to motivate ourselves onto the Island with such an idyllic setting right there at the cottage. One memorable item was witnessing a bald eagle strike the water for fish several times.

John and Teresa were very easygoing and friendly. Everything we needed was there at the cottage; no unpleasant surprises. We took the kayaks out several times. We made good use of the grill, which looks brand new.

I have to comment on the design sense that John and Theresa have brought to this cottage to make it so special and unique. They have managed to thoroughly update this family cottage while maintaining the feel of a rustic summer camp. In the same space you find current Country Living design elements butting up against unfinished, rustic structure in a way that "shouldn't" work. But it all blends perfectly. White sheetrock and pale yellow and ecru bead-board meets unfinished beams and painted flooring throughout the older part of the house. This architectural contrast of old and new is where the unique charm of Day Cottage resides. is just so tastefully done that it deserves comment.

The one time 30% addition allowed to the waterfront house was devoted to a new master bedroom, bath and kitchen. The tiled floor and shower and powder blue bead-board maintain the cottage feel of the fully updated bath. The kitchen is modern and functional. We loved the banks of deep drawers in place of base cabinet doors - so incredibly functional we want to similarly update our own kitchen!

This was by far the best of many vacations we have had to Downeast Maine. We hope to return, if circumstances allow. We would highly recommend Day Cottage for its idyllic bayside setting, unique eclectic ambience, and ease of doing business with the owners. I could imagine that some with very modern tastes might not appreciate the setting. For us it was perfect. There was no downside to be found here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic deck and close proximity of the entire house to the waterfront.
Liked least: I can't think of a single thing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Very kind words. Thank you so much. We will look forward to your return. Good wishes for a great school years.
Till we meet again, peace, John and Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$2 100
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing