We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our way to our summer home ”
Review of Thai Tugboat

Thai Tugboat
Ranked #30 of 91 Restaurants in Rockland
Cuisines: American, Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Again we stopped at Thai Tugboat when waiting to take the ferry . A must stop for anyone at the ferry or in the area . The Thai food is out of this world fresh, tasty and generous serving ... Sue and Dan are the added bonus of stopping. They are so nice and you feel like family when there . If you choose to eat there . They have lovely tables made out of granite with umbrellas to sit at while watching the boats in the bay ... I give them a 5+ stop by you won’t be disappointed!!~!

Thank Dolliedoodrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018

My wife and I are on vacation up in Maine and spent the day in Rockland. We checked out Trip Advisor to find a restaurant we had not eaten at over the years and found Thai Tugboat. It took a few minutes to find it (You have to go down to the Ferry and look to the left). It is a little red building with three tables with umbrellas and stone seats. It has a very limited menu, but according to the reviews, their Pad Thai was great. They were right!

I ordered the chicken pad thai and my wife ordered the vegetable pad thai. We also ordered the egg rolls. The egg rolls were very crispy and delicious. Both Pad thai's were really delicious. Frequently we have pad thai where we can tell they added a fair amount of sugar for sweetness. These pad thai dishes were extremely tasty without being overly sweet.

The Thai Tugboat has been reviewed fairly infrequently over the last 8 years. If you like Thai food, then this restaurant is worth the extra effort to find and eat at.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mvssysprog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, Owner at Thai Tugboat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you so much for stopping by. We are happy you enjoyed the Pad Thai and egg rolls. Thank you for taking the time to post this very nise review. We really appreciate it. Hope you will stop by when you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We are so happy we found the Thai Tugboat next to where you park and wait to get on the Rockland Ferry.We both had the Pad Thai and it was so flavorable. It wasn't sweetened with too much tamarind like so many Thai restaurants seem to do in the U.S. Large, juicy pieces of chicken. Other foods such as sandwiches served also. The chef says she cooks like we are family. I agree.

Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, Owner at Thai Tugboat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you very much Laura. At Thai Tugboat we cook every meal as if you are family. We serve a generous portion of fresh marinated chicken tenders. We also stir fry with less oil. Again, thank you for your very great review. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We had lunch today at the Thai Tugboat, and they deserve every 5 dot/star rating they receive. We had the Green Curry in coconut milk with chicken veggies and rice, and the chicken pad Thai. Both were excellent but I think the curry was a touch better. The owners are charming and welcoming, it's like eating on their porch, except it's at the ferry terminal. The boat activity adds to the view and the breezes were very nice.
We commented to Sue that we had come for dinner a few times and missed them. They close at 5:00PM. She graciously suggested that we arrive a little before 5, order dinner and enjoy the scenery as long as we wished. So we have already planned our next visit.
Finally, I love the granite picnic tables. For big rocks they are very comfy.

1  Thank LobsterGirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, Owner at Thai Tugboat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you so much for stoppingby. We are so happy you enjoyed the food. We cook and treat all customers like they are our family. The green curry is a new item this year and is getting lots of good comments. Again, thanks and hope you can drop by again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

So Don't worry if you're are running late for the Ferry and miss the Thomaston Cafe. The Pad Thai and fried fish are quite good.

Thank saltymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Tugboat also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Thai Tugboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing