We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Careful

It’s beautiful but be careful keeping your head up because you can easily fall into a crack and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
cccgregory
,
Rockland, Maine
via mobile
Nice unique walk on the breakwater

I walked the breakwater when I visited Rockland in October. The waves come right up onto the rocks... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
SoloTripsAndTips
,
St. Augustine, Florida
Read all 840 reviews
  
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
559
238
41
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
238
41
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long walk great walk watch your step granite blocks high tide samoset resort on the rocks large gaps wear good walking shoes scenic walk great exercise huge granite breakwater light rockland breakwater worth the effort sturdy shoes uneven surfaces
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Close to a mile one way but beautiful scenery. The huge granite blocks making up the jetty are a little uneven (so watch your step!), but super impressive. They squeezed smaller granite stones into the slabs that didn't fit together quite right. You can see the indentations where dynamite was used to break them from the slabs. It is amazing how straight the edges are, given that the granite blocks are in the water AND that it was built in the late 1800's! See if you can find the ONE granite block that extends the entire width of the walkway. (It is about 1/2 way along the walk.) The lighthouse keeper's house, now vacant since the light was automated in 1964, is quaint! Make sure to go out onto the dock and take a picture of the lighthouse. Cool perspective! No bathroom facilities or snack bar out there, so come prepared! :) Enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank karenronhoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

The trail that leads to the breakwater lighthouse has an interesting history. The granite blocks that were used to build the breakwater came mostly from the islands in Penobscot Bay. Barges carried them across and cranes from the beach unloaded them. The dangerous work claimed a few lives and burials at sea were common in those days. The immigrant labor was paid in cash and corruption was rumored from the start with this lucrative government contract. Granite industry barons were intent on keeping the bulk of it for themselves didn’t care how many people died to line their pockets. When walking the path think of all the people who died to make Rockland Harbor as safe haven for commercial maritime local economy.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Trustfundkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This is a great walk, .8 mile each way, level on large rocks. Worth the walk for the views. The jetty is made up stacked stones so the little kids will need help with the gaps here and there. Be prepared to carry them back! Check the sign to see if the lighthouse itself is open. Still a great trip even if closed - harbor views are awesome! Free on-street parking available.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank DJ660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Definitely is a different type of lighthouse experience. Tons of walking to get out to the light which was a little unexpected, but actually ended up being a great workout. Would definitely go back!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

My husband, adult daughter and I decided to walk out to the lighthouse on a perfect day! Sunny, a bit windy, but low 70’s. Using my Apple Watch, I was able to verify the distance of .90 miles, one way. The round trip from our parking spot to the lighthouse and back was 2.4 miles. You had to be alert while walking to watch for cracks between the huge squares of granite and nite, they are not perfectly flat . It was built in the late 1800’s. What an amazing achievement for that time ! Note that the tide was coming in during our walk , so the water was splashing over the breakwater out by the lighthouse. So once we got out there, we did not lollygag, but started making our way back . Not sure what happens at the peak of high tide. Probably not for elderly that Might not be real steady on their feet. And small children might have difficulty . And I would definitely not bring a dog unless they were really agile . A service dog probably would be fine . But sooooo worth it !

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank karlabrann2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews