We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
265
163
36
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
163
36
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews commercial street valet parking great location typical courtyard old port becky's diner within walking distance harbor view room free shuttle per day portland downtown waterfront shuttle service starbucks coffee would stay here again directly across the street valet staff street parking
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

This is one of the nicest Courtyard Marriotts that I have stayed. When a Courtyard has valet parking, you know it is unusual. Very nicely modern, wonderful lobby, and great staff. Rooms were very up to date, with lots of good design, and thoughtfulness in all of the room amenities. And the beds were excellent. This is a great hotel- obviously not complete full service, but heads and shoulders above the typical Courtyard

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor, we're so happy you enjoyed the modern style of our hotel so much. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

First off, you can't beat this location. For a touristy weekend away in Portland, we could walk everywhere from here. Yes you pay for valet parking, but it is a daily fee, not every time you leave and repark. The rooms appeared to have been newly refurbished. They are not big rooms, but really comfortable beds with high quality bedding. The downstairs lobby is comfortable with big chairs and great views. The other part of the lobby serves as a restaurant during the day and a bar at night. If you are visiting Portland, I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mws101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor, we're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us from the location to the modern style of our hotel. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Great location, a bit expensive for a Courtyard, but well within walking distance to countless restaurants and bars.

Good service, accommodating staff. Valet parking. Nice rooms, comfy beds. Small bar and restaurant in a comfortable setting.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Very nice new hotel that is well located with a nice staff and rooms were well outfitted. We debated between here and the Press Hotel (which was about double the price but did not have availability) and were very happy with the choice. We had some friends that stayed at Press and were very disappointed in the size of the room relative to the $800 price tag. They swapped to the courtyard. I think the reason you get mixed reviews from some people (mainly around the cost of the rooms) is because it is a "courtyard by Marriott" which implies a nice relatively cheap 2 story hotel. The reality is I imagine this is a much nicer than typical courtyard by Marriott with 5 stories, car valet, big beautiful lobby with a Starbucks, access to a chevy suburban to shuttle you around to restaurants, nice gym (not sure if there was pool) and laundry facilities on every floor. The rooms were super comfortable and well laid out, maybe a tad on the smaller side but again quiet and well laid out. You are right in the thick of downtown portland but a little bit on the edge so that it is a quieter but everywhere you want to visit is easily reachable walking. We paid $400 for a king bed with a pull out coach which was a fair price in my view vs what you were getting (in high season at the last second). I would definitely stay there again and after a lot of research, our friends experience at Press and our very nice stay there I think this is the best hotel in Portland. A better hotel moniker might be a more mellow/less modern Kimpton but who cares it's worth it!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Voldar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Voldar15,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor, I am so happy to hear that you and your friends had such a great time while you were here and saw the value that we provide here at the Courtyard. We really appreciate all of the feedback and hope that we have an opportunity to host you again in the future. We do have a pool and its on the first floor to the right of the elevators...for next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We spent two nights at this downtown Portland hotel. It is a newer property with updated amenities. The room we had, an extra large double queen with a corner view, was very nice. The cozy sofa turned into a pull out bed for our teenage son. The bathroom was clean and well stocked, the refrigerator big enough to house leftovers, and a microwave to heat up whatever we wanted. The work out facility is gorgeous with numerous machines and complimentary ear buds, fruit, etc. We bought snacks at the bar downstairs (hot tea, cookies, smoothie, yogurt). Prices are as expected in a hotel, but I felt the nightly rate we paid was too high. Granted, we were there on a Friday night but $550 is a bit steep for a Courtyard. However, its location was ideal for walking the waterfront, getting to our boat tour and our Maine Foodie Tour. Parking is all day in/out valet for $21/night.

Room Tip: Great views with the corner suites
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichiganMom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

MichiganMom71,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time here at the hotel and that you were able to get out and explore the Old Port with ease. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews