We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience never again!!”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Firstly, we were greeted by a mass pile of rubbish and a whole mish-mash of surrounding area. Then, when we walked up to dine outside, the whole layout of seating was severely underwhelming. Then when we went in to order ( which was very confusing) we were told that to order on a card, you would have the spend a £10 minimum, well my starter was £9.95 (which I should add was not worth that kind of money at all). The food which I then got - breaded seafood - came on a slate with 1 piece of calamari, 1 prawn, 1 scampi, and 4 whitebait. This was a complete and utter rip off and should have been sold for £6 maximum. Our total( which was just a steak and ale pie, one fish and chips, one burger and chips from the children’s menu which also included Pepsi, a ginger ale, and a Pepsi) came to around £36!! Not worth the money if you ask me!! Also, the staff seemed to not care about customer service at all. All in all, a terrible dining experience and will never come here again.
And we do not apologise whatsoever for saying this.

8  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newinnchurchknowle, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Firstly Thank you for not coming again you and your Children were rude to the team, and there are 100s of people who apreciate our Garden, and the Restaurant, You walked in on a very busy session, with out booking, we managed to serve you, and you have no reason to complain about service,
There was no mass pile of Rubbish, The out side seating suits all but you,
As for paying on a card, you were way over the £10.00 minimum transaction, so what is your problem, As for your starter if you cant aford the price there are plenty of cheaper starters, You were aware from the Menu what it consisted of, but still ordered, (you obviously have no idea about costing, )
about ordering no one else finds it confusing, to look at the Menu, and blackboard specials, and come to the Bar and order, , you can pay when you order or pay when you have finished, it is as simple as that, You just moan and complain for the sake of it,
With all the meals you Knew the cost before you ordered, , As for our team they are 100 % comited to giving a good customer experience and are complimented for this every day,
All in all you were our worst behaved customer in all season, and we are delighteed you will not come again, The team had already decided not to serve you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We thought we would give this a go as the adverts always looked so good. We were underwhelmed to say the least. When we arrived we went to the rear of the pub to park, in the field was a massive pile of rubbish. Not a great impression, we walked through the garden to see two broken umbrellas on the ground. Again didn’t really inspire confidence any on to the food there were specials on the board some of these that had run out of, it was only 7:30 so we ordered from the menu we both had the same starter unusual but we both fancied the breaded seafood. At £9.95 this can only be described as an out and out rip off, it wasn’t even nice. The main was ok I had belly pork & wife had crab. Personally I would give it a miss, the whole thing was very poor value.

3  Thank Bruno222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newinnchurchknowle, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Yet another review from the same group, 3 reviews in all, As for the pile of rubbish it was in the field not in the garden, and put there to burn after we had closed,
There were no broken Umbrellas, but some people dont want the Umbrella so they lift it out of the table, and lay it beside, also some times when it is high winds we remove them,
You are all three reviews ar moaning about the same things
As for the starter you choose the most expensive starter on the Menu, you knew the price before you ordered, there were plenty of cheaper options,
Our team had already said they will not serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Made my elderly mother very welcome. The menu was interesting, food was good and the pub is in a beautiful setting.

Thank Ultraviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

The last two reviews sum up different peoples expectations. To get a five star review from someone with 186 reviews behind them is worth taking note of. I happened to be here for my wedding anniversary on Friday 27th in the evening. The place was busy, Loads of families and they still accommodated 5 of us for dinner without a booking (don’t tell my wife) and without any fuss. In fact the service was super relaxed but professional. Again no fuss. For a pub in such a small village I would go as far to say that the food and team working were exceptional and they know what they are doing. Yes it’s busy in high season. The food is simple but skilfully prepared. Dishes to recommend , The Swordfish, Grilled bream, Cod mornay. Fish here is fresh and great value. It’s very traditional with family values is a wonderful family run pub. Butcombe on draft. Thank you.

Thank ardent777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newinnchurchknowle, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Many thanks for your review, and congratulations on your wedding aniversaary, We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience, It was a pleasure to accommodate you all, You were a happy relaxed family and friends, and it was a pleasure for our team to serve you,
The last poor review was a family as miserable as sin when they arrived, even the team said it was no pleasure to serve them,
They had fresh free range Chicken from Curtis of Wareham, a generous 1/4 chicken, we do not put Pigs in Blanket on the plate, because all our roasts and many other meals are Gluten free,
As well we serve sides of vegetables to give choice, and not to pile up the plates,
The macoroni cheese is only served as a childs Dish, with not to strong Cheese flavour, , This is very popular we serve 100s of them with out complaint,
Just onr grumpy table, probably tired and wind swept with the change in the weather,
Like you say this is just one persons opinion, and we go with the majority, who consistantly give us 5 star reviews,
We have recently been awarded a Certificate of Excelence again for 2018, I think this is 5 years in a row for this award,
We apreciate you taking time to review us,
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

The New Inn was recommended in our Holiday let welcome pack and having googled the pub I decided to book a table on Sunday 29th at 6pm for myself and partner and 5 children.
I was expecting a carvery but presumed this was not on offer and went for a roast that was on the menu “ With all the trimmings” apparently !
Chicken roast came up as a piece of chicken and 3 roast potatoes on one plate ( no pigs in blankets or Yorkshire puddings ) this made the plate look extremely empty, was told Yorkshire’s only come with Beef and there is no Beef , don’t you realise Yorkshire’s go with every roast .
This also went for the Lamb Roast.
The children’s Macaroni Cheese was tasteless and the lovely touch of putting tomato ketchup in a little Jam jar was lovely but as this was also the case with mint sauce the ketchup was a bit minty and that’s from the mouths of 2 ten year olds.
The setting and first impressions were very good and service was ok but we had to wait for our plates to be removed for longer than acceptable.
We decided that we would not have dessert after this even though we had paid for three children’s meals.
The food was hot and edible but having eaten in many restaurants there is a lot to be learnt about consistency.
We are staying in the area for a while longer and would not look to go back which is a great shame as we had high expectations

2  Thank robertcE6640ZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newinnchurchknowle, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you for your review, and we are dissapointed you did not enjoy your dining experience, As for yorkshire pudding , it is a treaditional part of a Roast beef lunch, not with all roasts, like Mint sauce is traditional with Lamb, and apple sauce with pork,
You were served a 1-/4 of a Chicken, with roast potatoes and gravy on the plate, we do not pile up the plate with vegetables, but you omit to say you had a side of Dauphinoise potato and a selection of around 5 seasonal vegetables,
As for the carvery it is not advertised for a Sunday evening, but only for Lunch, you asumed it was vailable on A sunday evening, But we do serve a roast from the Kitchen every day, Most people apreciate that the plates are not piled up with vegetables, but come as a side order,
As for the Chilfrens Macaroni Cheese , We are sorry you did not like the way we serve this dish, but it is very popular with Children, with out complaint,
You were asked at the time if you enjoyed your meals, and you made no complaint at the time,
I am sorry if the service seemed slow to you, But if you are in a hurry, all you have to do is ask for quick service and our team are happy to oblige,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing