We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful, well equipped, very helpful owners...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Aislaby, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Allan D
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful, well equipped, very helpful owners who made us feel very welcome.”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were an extended family of 14 staying, comprising 4 families, and with four well behaved dogs. Each family group arrived at different times and Mr and Mrs Horncastle were very accommodating in allowing us, as parents/grandparents, to arrive early to be prepared for the others. Mrs Horncastle showed us around the property, giving attention to all details and made sure that we had everything that we needed. The beds were all made up with clean sheets and there were plenty of large clean bath towels for us all. The house is beautiful, for cleanliness, décor, ambience and position. The kitchen was a delight to use with plenty of room and utensils. The children loved the freedom of the football pitch and we enjoyed the barbecue, which was clean and ready to use. Beech Hill Manor House is comfortable and spacious - younger children loved the bannisters! There was enough space for the family to spread out and when other family arrived for a celebration, there was plenty of crockery, cutlery, glasses, chairs etc. for a formal dinner in the dining room. We just loved our family holiday there. Mr and Mrs Horncastle were a lovely, friendly couple and if we had any queries, they helped us immediately. We would all love to go there to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of elegance - we all felt that we were
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the smell of dampness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jul 2012
Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you were disappointed with this delightful property. We have spoken to the owner regarding the issues you have raised and she was very upset that you had not raised these matters directly with her during your stay, especially when she and her husband had gone out of their way to accommodate your changing requirements – even missing a trip to the theatre as you had not given them an indication of your arrival time. The owner confirms that having seen the garden was empty, she took the brief opportunity to discuss future planting options with her gardener.

It is regrettable that you did not mention any problems with the plumbing during your stay, as when the property was cleaned at changeover they discovered that someone had driven into the pipes on the outside of the building which had caused the issues mentioned. Regarding the check-out time, all of our customers are advised that this is 10am. You had apparently tried to contact the owner’s husband during the evening, who unfortunately had been admitted to hospital as an emergency. As soon as the owner was aware of you trying to contact him she visited the property, and having seen you sitting in the kitchen thought it would be acceptable to speak to you to clarify.

We are sorry that you did not raise any of these issues with the owner or ourselves during your stay and allow them the opportunity to rectify to your satisfaction. We are happy to continue to take bookings for this lovely property and note that your review is not a reflection of other guests’ opinion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guildford
Reviewed 13 December 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln
Reviewed 2 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing