We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable overnight stay”
Review of Thornhill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornhill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thornhill Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Thornhill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We did a road trip from PE to Cape Town and found Thornhill Farm conveniently close to PE as a first stop. It turned out to be a great choice with wonderful staff and a superb little restaurant as bonus. It was also lovely to walk around on the farm and see all the animals.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicolaast2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

Expensive for the acomodation offers. The breakfast is good. The localization doesn't have sign and we have been lost around the farm. We don't know how to arrive in the Tornwill Farm. The local doesn't have amenities avalible.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ricardopV8387KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Our family stayed at Thornhill Farm for 1 night in December 2016. Our kids enjoyed the farm experience and interactions with farm animals, and I and my wife had a comfortable stay. The owners were very nice in organizing our stay and also making the farm experience quite an informative one.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank atsushin2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We finished work early decided to go for lunch Thornhill farm shop ..looked on board choose ordered .. Girl was so rude saying lunch had finished at 2.00 it was 8 mins past 2 do they really not want the business !! Very rude to us shouting lunch had finished at two could not even do a sandwhich !! My son has a restaurant he finishes at ten at night but will always take extra bussiness will be advising family and friends not to support this local bussiness untill they emply polite staff !!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

This is a guesthouse on a farm although there is little farming just the feeding of milk to calves (which guest can do) and getting equestrian facility ready. My rpom was comfortable, clean and large. It's a real home from home affair where staff make breakfast according to your requirements and you can wonder in the kitchen and help yourself. Woldo the guesthouse manager is extremely pleasant and helpful served lovely breakfasts outside in the pleasant gardens. He also requested meals at different time from the Barn Restaurant that is situated on site which is helpful as there are few choices for dining in the area. There are no TVs in this establishment but thats a plus as I enjoyed reading and listening to music on my laptop instead during the evening and went to bed earlier than usual after busy days touring the area.

Room Tip: Loved the large room with entrance to its own verandah area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Thornhill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Farm

Address: Farm 446, R 102, Thornhill 6375, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thornhill
Price Range: R 650 - R 800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated overlooking the Labour Slipper Mountain, nestled in 70 ha of tranquil farmland and natural bush you will find Thornhill farm. The house was built in the early 1900s and still offers the same charm with a lovely view of the ocean. The house consists of 4 rooms; 2 suites have interconnecting doors to a twin bedroom. The house sleeps 14 guests comfortably. 4 extra beds can be added. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing