We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Awarded 4* by Visit England
Newton-in-Bowland
Sleep soundly
Lots and lots about the area  - please write us a review
Stags in the bedroom
The Grade 11 listed windows
The view from the back of the cottage
Another fine view from the cottage garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Newton-in-Bowland, Clitheroe, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KfromWale...
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for a weekend. from the beginning our dealings with Paula were excellent. She responded promptly to all our emails, and booking and check in were very straightforward.

The cottage itself is a delight. It's very comfortable and extremely well equipped, with extras available both free of charge (toiletries, cereal, tea and coffee) and at an at cost charged via an honesty box, saving shopping and provided at cost.

The furnishings are high quality, with a superbly comfy huge bed, great shower, fluffy towels to name a few. The wifi was free, the heating and hot water plentiful. We booked the breakfast pack, which was excellent.

The cottage is situated in a picturesque village, with a pub that serves highly rated food. It's 7 miles from Clitheroe and there are loads of footpaths close by for walkers.

We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace at night
Liked least: Only little back garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smf0253
Leigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect! A Grade 2 Listed Cottage which has been tastefully renovated.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just got back from a lovely, relaxing long weekend at The School House Cottage.
The surrounding area is beautiful, with loads of great places for walking, a quiet drink or a nice meal.
The cottage is beautiful and so cosy, with lots of top quality mod cons.
All the thoughtful extras such as a variety of teas, coffees are a lovely touch, and we wanted for nothing during our stay.
The owner could not have been more helpful and welcoming, and the communication we received prior to our visit was excellent!
A great weekend. Thank you Paula.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southcoun...
Romford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rural bliss”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The School House was everything we had hoped for, and more. Rustic and historic from the outside, but decorated to modern standards inside with all mod cons and cute little extras. It felt like a home from home... make sure you order the breakfast basket (local bacon and free range eggs from across the road were delish) and cosy up by the log burner on damp evenings.

There's no doubt we'll be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen area and size of bed
Liked least: Shelf directly above the small sink. Can't wash without banging head or soaking the floor!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nessa D
1 review
“Cosy cottage with all the mod cons added”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I absoutely fell in love with this cottage, the owner Paula was ever so friendly and provided all details that were needed for our short stay.
It felt like everything had been thought of including the chance of purchasing a breakfast basket on arrival, this is a must. Along with providing toiletries in case you had forgotten anything.
The heating in the cottage offered a nice cosy retreat after climbing pendle hill on a wet, windy day in July!
I highly recommend this holiday rental, we will certaintly be back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your review I look forward to you staying with us again - you were great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barraclou...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My friend and I were cycling in the nearby Gisburn Forrest centre. The cottage is well presented and a perfect base. Our welcome was warm and the cotage contained some really thoughtful welcoming touches. The highly rated local pub does food but does not open on Monday or Tuesday, the nights we stayed. However a lovely 30 minute walk beside the river brings you into Slaidburn where the pub does good food on a Monday but not Tuesday.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thanks Nigel and hopefully see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing