We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!”
Welcome to Sunny Woods House. Bright and cheery. Private.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sunny Woods House. Bright and cheery. Private.
Deck and patio added on off of the Sun and Media Room shown below. Maine sculpture is on view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Welcome to Sunny Woods House. Bright and cheery. Private.
Deck and patio added on off of the Sun and Media Room shown below.
Maine sculpture is on view.
Flowering trees and perennials are in the gardens. Great lawn for games and dogs.
Kayak and swim in West Harbor Pond from your private dock.
Contemporary living room viewed from the open kitchen.
Dining room has pass through to open kitchen. Huge windows on 3 sides with garden views.
Modern kitchen fully stocked. A dish washer!
Sun Room by day. Media room by night. Queen hide a bed and a futon make it i third bedroom.
Master bedroom has a queen bed and its own full bathroom.
Master bathroom with a shower.
A dedicated office for keeping in touch or full-time working remotely.
Second full bathroom in hallway for 2nd bedroom and Media Room if used as a 3rd bedroom.
Hallway shows master on right and 2nd bedroom, office and Sun/Media Room on left.
Red Fox in winter.
Prop Fish in winter.
Wind orchid in winter.
Being Whole in winter.
Now our guests can get in.
How many cars are they bringing? This is a big driveway.
Susan is 5 foot five. Quite the snowbank.
Ice formations on the lake. Good cross country skiing and snowshoeing.
Frozen waterfalls. Great skating.
Visiting the ice fishing huts.
Let's play hockey with a frozen fish?
Okay. I am Canadian...
Owners Susan Morris and Chip Newell in the summer.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kurt S
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I rented the house for an extended time during a house remodel. I can't say enough about the owners hospitality. The house was perfect for our needs and the grounds are amazing. Sunny woods is close to town and tucked away just enough that you have total peace and quiet. We work remotely and this was just what we needed. The bird life is amazing, great place to chill, walk the grounds and spend time at the pond.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Our vacation week at Sunny Woods House was PERFECT!”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The week in Boothbay for the four of us (a couple in their 20s and another in our 50s) began with a cancelled flight into Portland that pushed our arrival back by a day. The stress of the airline, hotel and rental car changes, coupled with a torrential rain storm between Portland and Boothbay made for a stressful start to our vacation. Upon arriving at Sunny Woods House, all of that melted away. Waiting for us was a sweet note from Susan, fresh flowers in several rooms and food & drink items to get us through that evening and the following morning (including fresh blueberries that you can pick on the property). We instantly felt welcome.
The house has absolutely everything that you need. Bring your clothes and pick up your groceries and you’re set to go. You will likely find the staples there (condiments, spices, dish and laundry detergent), as we did. There’s a washer/dryer, dishwasher, outdoor grill and WiFi access, as well as plenty of closet space. Beach towels & chairs, a cooler, 2 kayaks and bicycles are also provided. And when you’re looking for something to do, there are many options, from kayaking on the lake (right down the path from the house) to exploring all that Boothbay Harbor has to offer. We took the day cruise to Monhegan Island as well as booking a Cabbage Island Clambake (reservations strongly recommended). We visited the Botanical Gardens, but were a bit disappointed, given the recent dry conditions. The colors didn’t pop and the insect population was high. While at the house, there are numerous books, board games and jigsaw puzzles to occupy your time and several TVs, including a Smart TV in the family room which makes Netflix access a breeze. There is also ample outdoor seating for dining, reading or bird watching.
Susan was wonderful to deal with, from the booking process through the end of our week’s stay. She is reachable for anything that you may need, and willing to offer suggestions about things to see and do. She encouraged our group to use her private dock on an especially beautiful lake day and also alerted us to the local Farmer’s Market on Thursday from 9-12.
We will, without a doubt, be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidw138...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“House, lake & area are all slices of heaven”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I have stayed at Sunny Woods House several times and can’t say enough good things about the house & location. It was the owners’ residence before they started renting it and is as fully equipped & maintained as you’d expect a top-notch home to be, and the fresh water lake (West Harbor Pond) is a slice of paradise. There are two short & easy routes into Boothbay Harbor itself: on one, past the turn towards the amazing botanical gardens, you go via the farmers’ market & past the YMCA, Hannaford’s (groc), Rite Aid, the movie theatre, etc. The other takes you to the heart of the town’s shops & restaurants. The owner Susan is extremely hands-on. With a call or text, she will quickly help with any questions or resources you might have or need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you so much and we hope to see you again. It is beautiful all four seasons of the year. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great pet-friendly location”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I booked a quick, last-minute stay at this property in early October. Directions provided were easy to follow and the property was just as beautiful in person as it was online. It was quiet and serene, yet close to town, restaurants, and shops. Best of all, the property is pet friendly and my two pups had a blast playing in the yard and walking down to the water. The owners were very helpful and responsive. I only wish I could have stayed longer! I would definitely consider a return visit to this property.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frandan57
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and explore the mid-coast Maine region.”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for 2 weeks in late August/early September and loved it! The owners are great hosts and have truly thought of everything to make for a comfortable relaxing vacation. We had our dog with us and it was so nice to be able to walk her on the property without encountering cars, pedestrians, etc. It only takes a few minutes to get to all the shopping, restaurants, activities in Boothbay Harbor, but Sunny Woods House give you the privacy to relax in a beautiful natural setting without constant tourist traffic outside your door. We would definitely recommend it for anyone wanting to visit the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing