We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
24
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
2
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were so blessed to have chosen Crocker Pond House as our first B & B experience ever.
It definitely set the bar for all future experiences extremely high!
We spent a week with Stuart and Ellen in their unbelievably unique and beautifully crafted home. It was the absolute BEST! We were blown away by their genuine hospitality and our instant comfort level as well as pure enjoyment of staying at Crocker Pond House. Every loving attention to detail was felt here from the minute we walked in the door and were warmly welcomed going up to our amazing loft room and finding freshly picked flowers to the final hugs when you just hate to leave! We loved sitting in front the warm amazing fire in the great room with a cup of hot tea and cookies in the evenings and getting to sit and visit with the other guests, sharing stories and hearing about places visited that day. They have a wonderful book selection and beautifully decorated home. We enjoyed a game of checkers in the cozy nook area. Their totally delicious and filling breakfasts held us over until dinner! We really appreciated their helpful advice for all the best places to go and eat. The beautiful natural surroundings are relaxing, quiet and peaceful.
We not only had an unbelievably wonderful experience, but we feel fortunate we got to meet Stuart and Ellen, who are both are truly amazing people We hope to make it back again to visit someday.

Room tip: We had an upstairs room with bed in a loft. Although it was just the two of us, we went up in the loft and checked it out and it was delightful! Children would love it!
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim N Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Crocker Pond House and absolutely loved it! Stuart and Ellen were wonderful and made us feel so welcome in their beautiful home. They made us a delicious and bountiful breakfast each morning. They were happy to give us advice on places to hike, explore or drive as well as the best places to eat. In the evenings they shared in our excitement as we told them about our adventures of that day.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We made ourselves at home in the spacious great room. There was a large library upstairs in case you forgot to bring a book, or wanted a game or puzzle.

We had never stayed in a B & B before but will certainly have high expectations in the future after staying at the Crocker Pond House. We were sad to leave!!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Cons- when we arrived, we walked in and no one was to be found. We wandered around a bit calling out "hello" and finally Stuart came. He was less than welcoming. A man of few words.

The website touts "all rooms are south facing with unobstructed views of the mountains". This is an outright lie. There are NO mountain views. All you see is the front yard and tall pines.

Website also says you'll wake to classical music. Nope.

Our room had a door out to a deck... But it left a bit to be desired. The deck is badly in need of restraining/waterproofing, it wasn't swept, the chairs and table were dirty and there was a dead bird laying right out our door : /

We had requested a second floor room with vaulted ceilings/loft and were told they like to hold them for larger parties. We got the smallest room available instead... Even though we were the ONLY guests there on the night of our stay. You think they could have honored our request once they knew they had no larger parties and put us in a larger room. But no.

I mean, we were "off season" guests so maybe we didn't get the full service... But I think full service should be offered to any guest.

Pros- Ellen, who we met the next morning, was absolutely lovely. Very welcoming, very helpful and a delight to talk with.

The setting is very remote. 50 private acres, multiple trails stemming off from the property, very quiet, very peaceful!!! A great place to reconnect with nature and refresh the soul.

Lovely pond with sandy beach area, dock, chairs to lay out in and hammock to relax in.

Beautiful, beautiful Inn, inside and out. Amazing architecture, wonderful natural light, so many cozy, inviting places to relax, read, play a game, talk. Wonderful little "nook" for children.

The rooms themselves were VERY clean, comfortable beds, fresh picked wildflowers etc.

Breakfast was absolutely wonderful.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but there were enough cons for us that we feel we could get a better experience and better value for our money elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 836sarahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our family spent a week here and we would go back in one red hot second!
Ellen and Stuart Crocker make you feel instantly at home. You should take time to talk with both of them. Do explore the expansive 50 acres that the house sits on. The house is located about 5 minutes from the center of town in an awesome, quiet wooded area. We saw turkeys, a coyote, a baby black bear and lots of deer along their road. The design of the home brings comfort, privacy, peacefulness, light and beauty. It's especially cool that Stuart used the trees from the property for the woodwork! There is a large pond on the property (with a fire pit) where you can take a dip or simply sit and enjoy. If you are a hiker, you must talk to Stuart! He has a large binder of hikes in the area and has done them all! There is plenty of space to spread out in their luscious living room, as well as the upstairs area where you can grab a game, work on a puzzle or borrow a book from the expansive library. The rooms are large with plenty of space to put your "stuff". Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. I hope to go back next year!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

It soon became obvious that we had discovered a very special place when we stayed at Crocker Pond House (CPH). We were summertime visitors and wanted to incorporate into our family holiday an experience in small town America. CPH is a beautiful property nestled within a wooded cove with garden and pond. The house welcomes you with warmth and a very relaxed and comfortable feel. The room comfortably accommodated our family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers, who were very well occupied with games and books from the library. Breakfasts were magnificent as were our hosts. This B&B exceeded all our expectations, and I would love to return some day.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews