We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite a heavy rain the cruise went out and we totally enjoyed ourselves.”

Maine Maritime Museum
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maine Maritime Museum is located on a beautiful 20-acre campus on the banks of the Kennebec River in historic Bath, Maine. Indoors, visitors enjoy air-conditioned galleries with exhibits and hands-on activities for all ages. Outdoors, visitors can join a guided tour or stroll through the historic Percy & Small shipyard and see how many of the world's largest wooden sailing ships were built, learn about lobstering in the Maine, enjoy lunch under the towering sculpture of the schooner Wyoming (the largest wooden sailing vessel built in North America), watch wooden boats being built in the Boatshop, or play on a pirate ship. May through October, visitors can get an up-close view of the area's lighthouses and spectacular scenery on daily cruises, learn the story of Bath Iron Works from shipyard insiders, and tour the Victorian-era home of the Donnell shipbuilding family. Open year round.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Our boat had an inclosed lower deck and an open upper deck (where no one sat on this particular day). There was a snack bar and beverages.

Very nice, extremely knowledgeable crew and very good narrative throughout the trip.

Saw a few unusual lighthouses, including one with a bell and the shipyard where naval military vessels are created. Very interesting. Not a lot of details about these ships, such as speed, could be shared as it's classified and need to know only.

Also saw an eagle with a fish in its tallons fly overhead!

Would do it again, on a sunny day and sit up top!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank edieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ship building"
in 88 reviews
"the bath iron works"
in 81 reviews
"boat tour"
in 34 reviews
"main building"
in 24 reviews
"kennebec river"
in 43 reviews
"outdoor exhibits"
in 14 reviews
"shipbuilding industry"
in 7 reviews
"masted schooner"
in 12 reviews
"bath area"
in 10 reviews
"blacksmith shop"
in 10 reviews
"knowledgeable docents"
in 6 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 9 reviews
"nautical history"
in 8 reviews
"all ages"
in 22 reviews
"kids will love"
in 6 reviews
"several buildings"
in 11 reviews
"three hours"
in 9 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018

I was dreading going to this museum because I was tired from visits to sites at Bowdoin, but really enjoyed it and caught a second wind. While my husband was more interested in the mechanics of shipbuilding, I found the sections dealing with everyday life of settlers, builders, and sailors fascinating. We did spend time in the lobster shed building which really schooled us on lobstering. Being able to see the shipbuilding works in Bath was also very interesting.

Date of experience: June 2018
4  Thank MomRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Lots to see if you're into history. Worth the visit. There were a lot of smaller exhibits within the larger "museum" area.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Hoosier1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

This museum houses numerous displays and exhibits about Maine's nautical history. The entrance fee seems a little steep in comparison to other high quality museums we have visited. I recommend watching the video near the entrance before visiting the rest of the museum.

The inside of the museum is certainly worth a visit but the Percy and Small Shipyard tour is not to be missed. Our guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. His 40 minute talk as we walked around the area was fascinating and I was sorry when it came to a close.
However, we were very disappointed to find the Mary E schooner closed for the day in anticipation of events the following day. I was under the impression that a tour of the schooner was included in the admission price.

Be sure to plan several hours for your visit. If you only have an hour or so, by all means do the shipyard tour.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank coldmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We happened to visit the museum the same day they were commissioning the Mary E schooner ship. It seemed the whole town came out for that. The museum is spread out along the coast, and right next door to a naval shipyard which was really cool. We were surprised they were allowed to run a ferry tour right alongside the shipyard but we were closely followed by the security boat. The outbuilding exhibits take you through all the parts of building a ship, you can almost sense the workers still there all around you. The main building has many exhibits as well with interesting displays. We also took an hour long lighthouse tour on the Merrymeeting ferry. Overall we thought the price of admission + the ferry tour was pricey ($75 for two adults) but enjoyed the afternoon. We were there for about 4 hours.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank ristarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maine Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Maine Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing