We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inchcombe island tour”
Review of Forth Boat Tours

Forth Boat Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A 90 minute Forth Bridges Cruise on the Firth of Forth depart from Hawes Pier at South Queensferry which is only a short distance from Scotland's bustling Capital City of Edinburgh. A boat trip aboard the Forth Belle is an ideal way to spend any morning or afternoon. Sit on the outside deck or in the heated observation lounge and listen to the guided commentary. Take in the magnificent views of the Forth Road Bridge and the world-famous, recently awared, World Heritage Forth Railway Bridge built in the Victorian era; the beautiful panoramas of the Edinburgh skyline to the south and the Kingdom of Fife to the north and the beautiful island of Inchcolm with its medieval abbey.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was really good, speaker system with recorded information was very interesting. Wrap up as even on a nice day it can be cold.

Thank 2easidoesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Three Bridges and Inchcolm Island cruise with Forth Boat Tours. I am sure that you enjoyed the views of Inchcolm island and the medieval abbey, the marine wildlife including the seals, the Edinburgh skyline, and of course the Three Bridges as you have never seen them before. Our experienced skippers and crew always make sure that our customers enjoy their day with Forth Boat Tours.

Why not try our Blackness Castle, Three Bridges and Cream Tea cruise which takes in the Fife coastline, the historic Limekilns village, Blackness Castle, as featured in Outlander, and the Three Bridges. Not forgetting your cream tea!

We look forward to welcoming you on board again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"inchcolm island"
in 149 reviews
"three bridges"
in 65 reviews
"cream tea"
in 27 reviews
"great trip"
in 42 reviews
"bass rock"
in 15 reviews
"blackness castle"
in 14 reviews
"full price"
in 13 reviews
"basking seals"
in 7 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 16 reviews
"waverley bridge"
in 8 reviews
"recorded commentary"
in 11 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 10 reviews
"minute cruise"
in 7 reviews
"great commentary"
in 9 reviews
"an hour and a half"
in 16 reviews
"different perspective"
in 6 reviews
"groupon voucher"
in 10 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me first of all say the crew on the boat were very helpful and cheery, unlike the descriptions given in some of the (negative) reviews here on TripAdvisor. The live commentary was appropriate to the location or sites we were invited to look at but the recorded commentary left much to be desired. It was laboured and, at times, so far out of synch with the position of the boat that you were twisting your neck to try to see what was being described.

We did the drop-off on Inchcolm Island and for the most part this was a worthwhile decision to have made. The Abbey was definitely worth a visit and the numerous information plates around the place were very useful. When we arrived the weather was very pleasant but within an hour a fiendish wind blew in and put paid to our plan to explore the other parts of the island which were more exposed. Instead we opted to go to the little shop and the adjacent 'museum' which offered some welcomed shelter.

Before going on the trip we had read the visit to Inchcolm would last approximately one and a half hours, however, on arrival we were told the boat would be back to collect us after approximately two hours. Finding something to do for the second hour on a tiny island in a belter of a wind is not the easiest thing to achieve. In the shop we were treated to an interesting conversation with one of the staff so that helped pass the time.

Overall, an interesting experience and fortunately the water was calm, the rain stayed away, the sun broke through the mist and the boat's crew were very professional. Would I recommend the trip? Yes. Would I go again? No, but seeing the three bridges from the water side was quite amazing....once!

Thank scotswahae2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi

Many thanks for your comments.The trip is a fantastic experience and we are delighted that you enjoyed the cruise with us. We always make sure that our customers get the best views and our experienced skippers and crew do point out places of interest and photo opportunities when the commentary is running.

The many thousands of customers who travel with us to Inchcolm Island every year find the island of great interest. It is a must do on the trip and we advise our customers to come prepared for all weathers! We do say that you are on the island for a minimum of 90 minutes. The abbey alone takes over an hour if you are doing it justice.

Our skippers stop the boat to allow customers to get their views and photo opportunities with the marine wildlife and the views of the Edinburgh skyline and more. The Three Bridges are a stand out and no matter how many times you travel with us the view is never the same twice!

Why not join us on the Blackness Castle, Three Bridges and Cream Tea cruise for a further opportunity to view Limekilns historic village, the Fife coastline, Blackness Castle (as featured in Outlander), and of course the Three Bridges as you have never seen them before.

We look forward to welcoming you onboard again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were briefed by the sales and marketing manager who then escorted us down to the pontoon where our boat the Forth Princess was tied up. We were on the Blackness Castle and three bridges tour with cream tea. The skipper and crew were great very welcoming. Enroute we sailed past Rosyth Dockyard and seen the new Aircraft Carrier for the Royal Navy HMS Prince of Wales, impressive.
Then up river to Crombie, across to Blackness Castle. Half way over a seal popped up to say hello. From Blackness back down stream and under the three bridges, three fantastic pieces of engineering that Scotland should be rightfully proud. Oh and the cream tea was fantastic.
BZ

Thank stephencrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi

Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your cruise with us. Our experienced skippers and crew always make sure that our customers have an enjoyable day. Now you have been on the Blackness Castle, Three Bridges and Cream Tea Cruise, why not come onboard for the Three Bridges and Inchcolm Island cruise. With fabulous views of the medieval abbey at Inchcolm Island, the Edinburgh skyline, the marine wildlife and of course the Three Bridges.

We look forward to welcoming you onboard again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Following an earlier review, which was favourable, we decided to have another trip. Bad mistake, and one which will not be repeated.
We got on the boat and grabbed a seat inside as it was a less than favourable day for a boat on the Forth. We were supposed to leave at 1.00pm
At about 10 past we were informed that due to a booked party if folk (weren't we all ???) We would need to vacate the table inside and sit outside. Is it not first come first served?
As I have recently came out if hospital following open heart surgery, I opted to leave the boat. I noticed on leaving that the table we had been chucked off was now full again. Both with these prebooked people. The guy on the pier did tell me to go back on and sit there again, but it is harder to get off a boat once its sailing. The guy who threw us, and others off the table was downright rude, and had a lack of English.
I, now having read other reviews, will do the tour in the near future with "Maid of the Forth ", who seem better organised and more professional.
Not to be recommend in any shape or form. Complete waste of a day after travelling over 40 miles to get there. It was a wee treat for my covalescence, but was not to be. Felt sorry for the oeople on board who had to wait till 1.25 for the prima donnas to arrive
Sadly cannot give zero as a score

1  Thank Diamond-Dougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your comments. Which are disappointing and seem at odds with what actually occurred.

Customers can and do get held up in traffic and the skippers make allowances for this. You were not 'thrown off' your table. You were politely asked by the crew member to vacate the table you were sitting at as that table was reserved. Others occupying the same table understood the situation and moved to another table in the saloon.

The many thousands of customers who travel with us every year enjoy their trip which includes, the views of the Three Bridges, Inchcolm Island and the medieval abbey, the marine wildlife and the entertaining and informative commentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we travelled here using the bus tour from waverley bridge in edinburgh,it cost myself and wife £40 as we are classed as concessions as we are over 60
the bus from edinburgh has commentary on board as you travell to catch boat.
on our tour we saw many grey seals hauled up and resting on the marker bouys that are in the river, the skipper of the boat was brilliant and slowed the boat to enable photo's to be taken

Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Graham

Delighted that you enjoyed our innovative Bus & Boat service from Waverley Bridge in Edinburgh. This is one of the many customer products that makes us stand out from the rest. Your bus ticket includes your return journey to Edinburgh plus your boat trip with Forth Boat Tours. No other company offers this service.

Our experienced skippers and crew always make sure that our customers enjoy their day and get the very best views of the marine wildlife including the seals. I am sure that you also enjoyed the views of the Edinburgh skyline, Inchcolm Island and the medieval abbey, the fantastic commentary and of course the Three Bridges as you have never seen them before.

ON your next visit why not come onboard our Blackness Castle, Three Bridges and Cream Tea cruise. Taking in views of the Fife coastline, Limekilns historic village, the marine wildlife, Blackness Castle, as featured in Outlander, and of course the Three Bridges.

We look forward to welcoming you onboard again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forth Boat Tours also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Forth Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing