We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour and staff was wonderful”
Review of Maid of the Forth

Maid of the Forth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Forth Bridges and Inchcolm Island Sightseeing Boat trips. Departs from Hawes Pier, South Queensferry, Edinburgh daily Easter to October
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a small tour boat that we took to Incholm Island to visit the Abbey. We had a great time on the boat. The crew was wonderful. Both Andy and Chris went out of their way to make the trip interesting for myself. They even managed to do so without giving me free drinks. Might be time for a raise for these boys. Captain Scot was interesting to talk with on the way over to the island. The recorded tour was very informative both on the way over and on the way back. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. My wife and I had a great day, due in no small part to the crew of the Maid of the Forth. I can only imagine how much fun would be had with these guys on an evening BBQ cruise.

Thank beachbums_ceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip with us, we are glad to see that you enjoyed sailing onboard the Maid of the Forth. I have passed your kind comments to our crew and they were glad to have helped to make your trip so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"inchcolm island"
in 187 reviews
"great trip"
in 53 reviews
"three bridges"
in 50 reviews
"boat trip"
in 80 reviews
"jazz cruise"
in 12 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 24 reviews
"lovely cruise"
in 7 reviews
"booking office"
in 6 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 11 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 8 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 10 reviews
"interesting commentary"
in 18 reviews
"boat staff"
in 6 reviews
"information given"
in 6 reviews
"small bar"
in 12 reviews
"saw seals"
in 23 reviews
"return journey"
in 11 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful experience, even with the seagulls in full attack mode!
Very much enjoyed the trips there and back, very informative and interesting.
We stopped off to visit the island and glad we did so. Explored a such as possible and the keepers warned us about the nesting seagulls and advised us to explore further at our own risk - we were provided with sticks for protection (not to hit them with may I add!)
Great for all ages

Thank Hevrahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your trip, even with the nesting gulls, but there are still lots of beautiful sights and places to explore. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a nice little ride out to the island. As we passed notable sites, the captain told us all about them. He let us know what time he would be back to pick us up and was on time. Very informative!

Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip onboard the Maid of the Forth. We are glad to see that not only did you find the trip enjoyable but also that you found out lots of information as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took a group of college students on the Maid of Forth. The trip was excellent. The boat was well equipped and very comfortable, and the 3 hour tour was perfect.

Thank McDonari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of your trip, we are glad to hear that both yourself and your students enjoyed your recent trip with us. Hopefully we will welcome you onboard in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Super trip to Inchcolm Island last week. The crew were great, so helpful and courteous. And the narrative throughout was very interesting. Walking round the abbey on the island was great but, if not your cup of tea, you can just sail round the island and back. On the return trip they sail underneath the 3 bridges which was fab. Thanks guys we loved it

Thank Marion O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent trip with us, we are glad you enjoyed your cruise onboard the Maid of the Forth. Thanks also for your kind comments about our crew, we pride ourselves on offering passengers the best possible experience. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maid of the Forth also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Maid of the Forth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing