We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
eDreams
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
47
9
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
9
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar wine tasting guest house spectacular views honeymoon suite vanessa vineyard paarl loungers garden dstv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2020

We were made to feel very welcome - Vanessa, Sue, Anneline & Rinette went out of their way to provide excellent service.
The room was well equipped with everything needed and the airconditioner and ceiling mounted fan allowed adjustment to comfortable levels - despite the very high temperatures.
The breakfast was amazing - what a choice! - and efficiently served without being rushed.
The swimming pool was just what was needed to cool off. The pool was well maintained, clean and surrounded by loungers to relax and enjoy a drink after the swim.
All in all, a four star establishment with a ten star service - highly recommended.

Room tip: When needing information about what's available locally - ask - Vanessa & Sue are willing and able to make recommendations.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BJPct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

Situated fairly close to Paarl and within the Ridgeback Vineyard the old country house is very pleasant. Nice room (No. 5) with small balcony, large bathroom with all amenities (double wash-basin, shower, etc). Comfortable bed in a decent size room with tea/coffee facilities, plenty of storage space, fridge, DSTV, WiFi and wines and snacks on offer. Bed turned down at night. Aircon and ceiling fan. Very quiet at night. Pool in the garden. There is a large lounge with an honesty bar and a large breakfast room. Substantial breakfast available with Continental and cooked. Very nice staff on hand. Handy location to tour the Paarl Winelands. The Deck Restaurant serves very good food.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2019

Really wonderful guest house in the middle of the vineyard. We stayed in the biggest room, really worth the upgrade. Great common areas, and a good breakfast. Service was fantastic. Very safe as well with great security.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank H7122PFchristiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

We were a group of 3 that stayed at Ridgeback House for a couple of nights. Our experience was really enjoyable and I can recommend Ridgeback House without any doubt. Vanessa arranged early breakfast during our stay which was absolutely word class. Our rooms were neat, tidy, spacious and very comfortable. What I can really point out is that Vanessa really gives attention to detail and this truly makes you feel like royalty. Thank you. We will most definitely stay with you again on our next trip to Paarl.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConradD130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nesscole, Manager at Ridgeback House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Dear Conrad

Thank you so much for the wonderful and positive feedback,we appreciate you taking the time to write to us. We like to believe that one of the many reasons that makes your stay with us enjoyable is our attention to detail and willingness of our staff to go the extra mile.

We loved having you here and look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you for your support

Kind regards
The Ridgeback Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We stayed here for two nights after arriving at Cape Town. A great find out in the countryside. Lovely room and so nice to have a water and ice machine to use as well as wine to purchase. Pool was good. Owners and staff so helpful and good to have a meal by the lake in the wine tasting area which made us truly relax. Owner organised a lovely evening meal locally plus taxi to drive us. Security is high but that makes one feel very safe and is obviously needed. Thank you.

Room tip: We did upgrade to the Calibre Room which was very nice.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan499616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nesscole, Manager at Ridgeback House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Dear Susan

Thank you so much for the wonderful and positive feed back. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us. Its wonderful to know you
that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we offer. We hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Kind regards
The Ridgeback Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews