We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other traveller has booked this property
Russet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Russet
The spacious sitting area with woodburning stove Russet has a very spacious open plan living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Russet
The spacious sitting area with woodburning stove
Russet has a very spacious open plan living room
The sitting and dining areas
The dining area
The dining area
The dining area and fitted kitchen beyond
The fitted kitchen
The bedroom has zip & link beds offering a 6 ft double or twin beds
The bathroom with double ended bath
...and separate shower cubicle
The communal barn between Russet & Pippin provides a convivial space for larger parties
The refectory table in the communal barn provides seating for 10
The pool table in the communal barn
The kitchen in the communal barn
The shower room in the communal barn
Russet
Russet - looking across to the paddock
Distinctive alliums flowering in Russet's garden
The communal barn/games room between Russet & Pippin
Summer flowers at Sweet Apples Barn Cottages
Russet and Pippin, with the communal barn in between
The paddock at Sweet Apples Barn
Autumn in the New Forest
Salisbury Cathedral - the west front
Cranborne Chase, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
Lymington Quay
Stonehenge at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Martin, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian D
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was a fab cottage in a quiet village only 20 minutes from the centre of Salisbury. We used it as a base to visit a variety of places and had a brilliant two weeks. The cottage was lovely and clean and the facilities were great. Our grown daughters came to stay for a few days and we all had plenty of room. The outdoor garden was great for our dog and the middle room with the pool table gave us even more extra space and provided some great entertainment. The homemade cake on arrival was gorgeous and a lovely touch. Went to some fab country pubs for some lovely meals. Visited the Dorset coast several times which is lovely. Will return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munr0man
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet country retreat”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage we had was Russet, place just on the edge of the New Forest and it enjoys a very quiet and tranquil setting.
The cottage itself is very well equipped and spotless throughout. The little touches made it a 'Home from Home' from a welcome package upon arrival to the thoughtful basket of essentials that you always forget to bring or buy e.g. olive oil, spices and other niceties to garnish your cooking there.
As a family of four we found it an ideal place to stay along with the location, both the New Forest and the main road to Salisbury are within easy reach.
We hope to visit again in the not too distant future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
242JojoS
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and great cottage”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely barn conversion that caters for all your holiday needs it's truly a home from home. The cottage is well presented, clean and has a lovely homely feel. The homemade cake on arrival was very welcome! The area is lovely we went on some lovely walks. We will definitely return to the Russet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt at home straight away
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great quiet place to stay in a chocolate box village. Cottage very comfortable with all the amenities of home. Private small garden perfect for relaxing and listening to the birds chorus in the morning or evening. Clean and welcoming, could not fault it in any way. Look forward to returning on later visits to Hampshire. We stayed with our two year old daughter and small dog, all had a good time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thanks for your positive comments, which provide useful information about this special cottage for future prospective visitors. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just got home from a fantastic few days in Russet. Lovely warm, comfortable, beautiful little cottage. Lovely cake on arrival
Ideal for days out, so peaceful in a really sweet little village just 15 minutes outside Salisbury.
We loved the big, deep bath....Bliss!
Would highly recommend
Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your positive comments. The owner makes a special effort to ensure all her guests are made very welcome at Russet. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the cottage and its location. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing