We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely retreat near the New Forest”
other traveller has booked this property
Pippin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pippin
The open plan living room Light and spacious
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Pippin
The open plan living room
Light and spacious
Comfortable and homely
An intimate corner
The dining area and kitchen
The dining area
The kitchen has everything you need
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom with separate shower over the bath
Bathroom
Pippin's private garden area
The communal barn/games room between Russet & Pippin
The communal barn between Russet & Pippin provides a convivial space for larger parties
The refectory table in the communal barn provides seating for 10
The pool table in the communal barn
Summer flowers outside the barn
Russet and Pippin, with the communal barn in between
The paddock at Sweet Apples Barn
Martin Village Green
A New Forest watering hole near Bramshaw
Keyhaven on the Hampshire coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Martin, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J-Pycroft
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and quit”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival there was ample parking. Property look clean from the outside. Martin down is only just up the lane, so walks on your doorstep, which was great. Peaceful location. Lovely home made cake waiting when we arrived. Owner was really friendly.

They were the good bits.

When we entered pippin it looked clean, but when we stated to look closer it was not that clean.

Table cloth was sticky and dirty, so we could not use it.

Floors had only been hooved to furniture not under. Especially the bedrooms, kitchen and under the dining table. Meaning lots of hair, dust...... Left

Sofas could do with being cleaned.

There where lots of cobwebs that where reachable, but not dealt with.

I had to clean out the washing machine draw before I could use it. It was thick with soap. I also had to do the same for the one in the games room.

Flys where a big problem.

When I book it said there was a freezer and a fridge. On arrival it turned out to be a fridge with a small freezer box. Which is not ideal. Not everyone eats out when they are away. I had access to the freezer in the games room fortunately. Otherwise I don't know what I would have done.

There was no bath mat.

Other than that Pippins was a nice quite place to relax. Just needs a good clean

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn A
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat near the New Forest”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Pippin in Spring half term. Frosty and bitterly cold outside, but with the underfloor heating the children were running around with no socks on inside. The apartment is thoughtfully designed, with lots of space, and a well thought-out kitchen. The area is fantastic for exploring, with masses to do, even in the dead of winter. We had lovely days out in Salisbury, Mudeford, the New Forest and Hengistbury Head. Would love to return one day, hopefully to take advantage of the adjoining property and middle room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly chickens outside in the paddock
Liked least: The lack of handwash in the bathroom/kitchen area (easily resolved!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at Pippin. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your time in this lovely property. It sounds as though you really made the most of exploring the surrounding areas. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasha C
hornchurch
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in lots of cottages over the years and I must say that this is definitely one of the best. Everything was very clean and tidy. Everything we wanted was provided. The little kitchen is very well thought out and made cooking a pleasure. In response to a previous review I would just like to say that the extraction hood was clean and worked, the windows sparkled, the washing machine drawer was spotless!!! We all slept like logs every night and were warm and toasty - under floor heating being very effective. Beds very comfortable and the little twin room was perfect for our children (8 & 10) a little dark during the day but we weren't on the doorstep of the New forest to spend the day in bed!! Fantastically located for exploring and very private. WiFi / mobile service was a bit shaky but that suited us as we were enjoying our escape from normal life! We highly recommend these cottages and hope to return with extra family next time so that we can have both cottages and the centre area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Our dog didn't like the shingle pathway as it hurt her feet!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at Pippin. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your time exploring some of this beautiful area and we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanneand...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family friendly holiday base.”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both Pippin and Russet for a family holiday. They had everything we needed for a self catering break. The games room shared between cottages was great for the family to wind down in after a busy day visiting the local attractions. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the rooms were easy to keep clean and tidy. The cake on arrival was wonderful. I would recommend both cottages to anyone. Thank you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
Thank you for your kind comments which will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. . We're so glad you enjoyed your stay back in the summer. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Pippin and Russet in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice location away from it all, great cottages with bonus of games room for communal gatherings between two cottages. Well equipped, would stay again.
Suited both our 8 yr old daughter and 6 month old puppy, as well as retired in-laws next door!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing