We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit in a Long Time”

Joe Bologna's Restaurant and Pizzeria
Ranked #23 of 1 020 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We used to go to Joe B's quite a bit when the kids still lived at home but had not been in several years. We ordered take out. Baked Ziti and Meatball Sandwich. Both delicious. Joe's is back in our dine out rotation.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

A Lexington institution. Many years ago relocated to a former church, thus putting the proverbially cherry on the "pizza". Fantastic food, service and ambiance. The breadsticks are massive, the salads fresh. If in Lexington, don't pass this up!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Calguy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We have been Joe Bologna fans since it opened 45 years ago. Soups and salad dressings are homemade, and huge breadsticks dipped in garlic butter are the best in town.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

I was among the first customers when Joe opened his restaurant in 1972, or so. It’s still a great place. The bread sticks, swimming in garlic butter are worth the trip and the pizza is first rate. Tonight, I tried the gazpacho and thought it was the best I ever had—anywhere! The servers are helpful and friendly. The restaurant is located in a converted Synagogue.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank DanEgbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Their bread sticks have been talked about by generations of students and Lexingtonians as well. They are worth the visit. Get them swimming in garlic butter. The pizza there is good but not the best I have ever had. The building it is in now was originally a church so it is cool. This is a good place to stop and eat before and after a UK ballgame though to complete your trip to Lexington.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe Bologna's Restaurant and Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Joe Bologna's Restaurant and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing