We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of The Leaping Hare

The Leaping Hare
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Stanton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Interesting to note other reviews which highlight some tardiness in service when compared to our own. The service was prompt and extremely courteous in our case but there are some timing issues to be worked on, in that having ordered our meal our starter arrived whilst still enjoying our G &Ts and before the arrival of our wine selection. A small matter but one that needs to be addressed. Our starter of scallops was exceptionally good with them 'just cooked' as they should be. My wife had quail whilst I had their pork belly/fillet and both were exactly right for us(having stolen a bit of quail I can vouch for that too!), although some might not like the de riguer just pink pork. We shared a refreshing sorbet dessert which was nice and sharp and not over sugary. Recommended but might be a good idea to let the waiting staff know that you dont want the first few things on top of each other! Apart from that a good experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank overthethrilltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We had been looking forward to eating here for quiet a while. We’d visited previously and wandered around the house and had a bite to eat at the cafe and enjoyed it. So when Mrs H’s mother was up to stay we booked for Saturday lunch. Things didn’t start fantastically! We had strolled around the shop as we were early and when we walked in to the restaurant at 1.45 we were sort of ignored. There were staff bustling about but our presence was not acknowledged. The rest of the afternoon sort of followed suit. The food was superb. BUT, 45 minutes between ordering and starter arriving? Water having to be asked for a number of times! No bread at the table (sorry when paying this much for lunch I’d expect some bread to nibble on.....especially with the wait) and, to be honest, diffident staff. I looked around to see if they were rushed off their feet......it was busy.......but it was not rammed! As I have said the food is as very good but a meal out, especially somewhere purporting to be something special, should be an occasion. This was not. We may return but we won’t be rushing which is such a shame as expectations were high and it’s only 20 minutes up the road

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank benandsally2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We came for lunch with family on their way home to London & Cheltenham after a family wedding. The meal completed the weekend beautifully.
Service was good, waitress was really friendly and helpful once she realised we were chatty customers. Food was nicely presented and very tasty though hubby would have preferred hand cut chunky cut chips rather than skinny fries..
Unfortunately there was no non-alcoholic beer which is my husband's choice as he has drugs he has to take mean he cannot drink alcohol.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

The restaurant is not well signposted from the main road and easy to miss. It's not even well signposted among the other businesses on site. The site is a working farm with vineyard, cafe, shop, farm shop and restaurant.

The restaurant is in a beautifully converted barn and the ambiance is good, the first serving staff were enthusiastic attentive and knowledgeable. The menu was not too chefy but well prepared, simple with some locally sourced produce (the Hoggit was particularly good). The white wine, rose and sparkling can all be chosen from the attached Wyken Vineyard's selection and it's very good (other wines are available).

The first two courses were excellent, well presented and pretty good value for fine dining, only the fries served with the steak were disappointing. Our desserts were ordered when there appeared to be a second service changeover of staff. It may have been because the restaurant was slightly busier but the staff appeared to be less attentive. The restaurant was by no means full. Three of the five us had ordered the chocolate ganache. There is a trend of serving salted caramel and adding a little salt to chocolate in some restaurants but in this case it was overpowering and I can't believe that it was intended. There was no one's eye to catch to complain so we soldiered on. It was an unfortunate end to an otherwise excellent meal. The first serving staff had been assiduous in asking if everything was was alright. It was difficult to catch the second serving staff's attention to even pay the bill. When paying we complained about the ganache but there wasn't any noticeable response.

Overall the experience was pretty good but spoiled by dessert.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

A very good little farmers market was in progress when we arrived so the place had a busy, buzzy atmosphere.
We sat outside in the cafe part and ordered from the lunchtime menu. A good variety of food on offer; pulled pork, fish cakes, Greek salad, Eggs Benedict, platter of local cheeses, pasta... so ideal for all dietary needs.
Very good quality food and nicely presented. Staff are very friendly and efficient.
There is a quiet restaurant area offering a different menu as well as the cafe part with indoor and outdoor seating. Child and dog friendly. If you sit outside you can watch the sheep and llamas in the field close by. Lovely gift shop and plant sales.
An ideal trip out for a treat and ideal for families.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank debrapO6959FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Leaping Hare also viewed

Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St Edmunds
Ixworth, Bury St Edmunds
 
Thurston, Bury St Edmunds
 

Been to The Leaping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing