We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Lunch”
Review of The Miners Arms

The Miners Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Whitecroft
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Greek, British, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Miner's Arms is a family run Free House pub and restaurant now under new management. The Miner's Arms is a popular, locally supported pub as well as being a destination venue for diners and live music lovers. It is host to Jazz and other music nights. A friendly place with log fires set at the gateway to the Forest of Dean. We welcome walkers, dog owners, children, drinkers, diners and musicians! Good food,freshly cooked with love. All served in a clean and welcoming environment. Call to make your reservation, book your party or even to have a game of traditional skittles! The Miners is open 7 days a week from midday every day of the year. Lunch and dinner is served daily and booking is always advised! The Miner's Arms also has a stunning 4 star Holiday Cottage with WiFi, forest views and a hot-tub which is available for rent.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time eating here. Had no expectations... The menu was very small but Wow the food was delicious. My wife had local wild boar and pork sausages and I had lasagne. My side of chips were proper chunky chips and all of the food was cooked brilliantly. The staff were VERY welcoming and all in all we had a brilliant lunch. Can't wait to go back on an evening, soon. If I had to give critique it would be that it needs a small face-lift, in areas, but the owner is new and has dealt with the important things first, service and quality!! We will be going back to try every part of the menu. Cheers.

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank luke m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianc0nn0r, Owner at The Miners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to comment Luke and we're really pleased you enjoyed the food. Fair comments on the pub needing a bit of tlc and some updating and we have a programme of works in the pipeline. Our first priorities were around cleanliness and warmth so hopefully we're ticking those boxes in these early days. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch today and received a lovely warm welcome from the owner and a great waitress. I had the special- local sausage and mash which was really yummy- I nearly licked my plate clean! My husband had the lasagna and it was also fab! We would have had pudding but had to get to an appointment. Will be back when we’re next in the area! Great food and fantastic service!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank laureneliza86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianc0nn0r, Owner at The Miners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments Lauren and great to meet you both. Really pleased you enjoyed the food and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

The owner of this establishment has the organisation skills such that he quite literally couldn’t organise a piss up in a pub. We booked for 7 people at 3pm for a Sunday roast to turn up only to find the booking had not even been recorded, leaving us stranded and without Sunday lunch in the middle of Gloucestershire with nowhere else to accommodate us at such a late hour. Cheers miners

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank rebeccablakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianc0nn0r, Owner at The Miners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review Rebecca. As explained on Sunday your booking was recorded in the bookings diary for another day. This was a genuine oversight and of course caused you great inconvenience. We were very busy with walk in trade and were not able to accommodate you and your party at the time, please accept our sincerest apologies. We had many compliments on the day for our food and service and I would encourage you and your party to arrange to come back and have a large glass of wine on us and give us a second opportunity to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

A lovely and welcoming atmosphere, the new owners clearly have everything in hand. I have no doubt they will make it an amazing success. The staff are pleasant and cheerful, Christine and Ian are steady hands on the tiller, the good is great and selection of drinks top notch. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Chris_T1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianc0nn0r, Owner at The Miners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thanks for your kind words Chris. Three weeks in and hopefully we are making steady progress, not without a few teething problems that are getting ironed out, but the support of locals and visitors is making it much easier. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Attended a weekend function here where we were greeted by a staff member with drinks immediately available. The food was plentiful and excellent, the staff couldn’t have been more helpful, and the service was excellent. When a few of us wanted to talk, we were able to sit outside for a while. We will certainly use this restaurant/ pub when we are in the a area again. I can’t recommend The Miners Arms highly enough.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Miners Arms also viewed

 
Lydney, Forest of Dean
 

Been to The Miners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing