We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
90
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nile perch unique experience special place lake victoria boat trip lake flies perfect place peace and tranquility safari experience hot shower long safari sandy beach amazing birds beautiful island walking safari bird island every turn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

From the moment we saw the island from the plane I was smitten. This island is magical, I actually don’t want to write too much about it as I don’t want to ruin the magic for others.

When you arrive at camp it will literally take your breath away. Sat on the shores of the Victoria Lake, with hippos as company and stunning views you will not be disappointed.

The camp fire on the beach is what dreams are made of, but it is the team here that makes this place so exceptional.

Never have we experienced service like it, with such efficiency but genuine warmth. We loved every moment from the amazing breakfast spots to the most memorable of celebration dinner.

Of course we chose the camp for the chimpanzees and try as we might it was hard to hide our first trips disappointment when there was no sighting, but the incredible Isaac and tracker James were beyond determined for us to see them day two.

What an incredible experience so exhilarating, from the trekking to hearing their calls to our first sighting!!! Just so special it is such a huge privilege nothing comes close and the fact you’ve had to work so hard to enjoy the moment just made it all the more magical.

Daniel thank you so much to your incredible team, for their warmth and welcoming (and exceptional service), to our wonderful chef - exemplary and we loved speaking to him each day! To Isaac, for your drive determination and care of me doing all you could do we’d experience the chimps. Heartfelt thank you to you! This island will stay forever in my heart.

Travellers tips: take good walking boots, long safari trousers and shirt and I found my safari hat so useful! Go on the short boat trip it’s so enchanting with beautiful moments.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Beth018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Rubondo Island Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Dear Beth

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for sharing your Rubondo Island Camp experience.

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us in every way. The team takes such pride in your compliments and it was our pleasure taking care of you and making your stay a memorable one.

Do come back soon!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Rubondo Island Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019

Robinson Camp is uniquely located right on Lake Victoria. The waves lull you to sleep at night. The common facilities where you dine and can relax are spacious and luxurious. We saw the elusive chimps while hiking through thick forest. Lots of other wildlife, but the boat trip to see the shore birds almost equaled seeing the chimps.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rcharin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Rubondo Island Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. We are so pleased you had these special experiences with the chimps, the boat trip, and the wildlife.

We do hope the fantastic memories made here will have you longing to return. We would welcome the opportunity to host you again!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Rubondo Island Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

We stayed with the Rubondo team in September 2019, it is truly a unique experience and in all our travelling we can say one of a few few spots left in the world with pristine forest and untouched beauty. The staff met our every need and nothing was too much of a problem, our stay was tailored to our desires, the food was great and there was always a cold Kili beer on hand. A big thank you to the team and congratulations on what you have managed to achieve. We will definitely come back, hopefully when the tree house stilted camp is up and running which sounds even more amazing.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Rubondo Island Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Hello Adam,

We are so pleased you enjoyed the incredible beauty of our setting. We truly appreciate your review and your compliments to our team!

We're looking forward to the return visit. A very warm welcome and cold Kili beer will be waiting for you!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Rubondo Island Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2019

The staff is outstanding: friendly, forthcoming, innovative, outgoing, efficient and most of all - we felt very welcome and comfortable! Unique experience in the jungle tracking chimpanzees. We witnessed a rock python laying 7 eggs - we got as close as one meter to the animal (she was quite exhausted...).

Room tip: all rooms with prime view of Lake Victoria
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Rubondo Island Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Hello Robert,

What an incredible experience and definitely one to remember! Thank you for this great review and for taking the time to post your comments.

We do hope those amazing memories made here will have you longing to return. We look forward to being able to offer you a very warm welcome again!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Rubondo Island Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2019

We lived an exceptional unprecedented experience in Rubondo thanks to Asilia's wonderful team. Everything was just perfect:
* Amazing location;
* Great hospitality: from beginning to end;
* Exceptional food served in exceptional settings (plural !);
* Very knowledgeable guide Paulo (merci beaucoup pour toutes ces explications);
* Wonderful rooms, right on the beach;
* Very attentive, helpful, friendly hospitable staff;
* Great chimp tracking;
* Unexpected activities.
Asilia's Rubondo Island Camp deserves a 6-rating on Tripadvisor!

NB: We will forever remember a special celebration with personalised cake, singing & dancing) : Assante Sana !!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank danielle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Rubondo Island Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2019

Hello Danielle,

Thank you for this very special review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post it and are thrilled that we could be part of the lovely memories made here.

It was a pleasure for us to create that special celebration for you. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another great experience soon!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Rubondo Island Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews