We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Kubu Soca Villa(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desak Putu Putera Homestay(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$21
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terang Bulan Cottages(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$27
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Bhuana Alit(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Made Arsa Homestay(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desak Putu Putra Hidden Homestay(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cantik Homestay(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motama Villa(Peliatan)
US$170
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2 382)
Filter reviews
2 382 results
Traveller rating
1 870
383
100
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 870
383
100
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature walkthe rivergarden villaour honeymoonlower poolplunge poolmain buildingmorning yogaevery hourafternoon teasuperior roomheaven on earthrice fieldsshuttle buscooking classoutdoor showerspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 2 382 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We stayed here for 5 nights from the 18th of November, we had booked a villa with a private pool. Prior to staying here we had been staying at a resort in Nusa Dua.
On checking in the welcome we had received at the front desk was not as warm and friendly as we had received at our other previous resort. We were taking to our villa which was quite small with not much space, the bathroom however was a good size. There was quite a noticeable lack of spare plug sockets in the room (only one spare socket). The private pool was extremely cold and more equivalent to a oversized ice plunge pool. We went out for dinner however we found that the two restaurants on the resort they are fully open meaning that after storms there are hundreds of flying insects landing on tables etc so we had the food sent to our room, however on getting back to our room there was a ant infestation that started in the bathroom (as they got in underneath the bathroom door that led to the plunge pool) we called the front desk who sent someone to spray the garden however this didn't help and actually made the situation worse. We eventually managed to get another room in the hotel (a superior room) sorted for us which was much better as it was bigger in size and more comfortable. However the front desk did not want to discuss the situation when we arrived back in the main area of the hotel from the villa instead they just wanted to send us straight to the room. The person on the desk that night was quite abrupt and clearly did not want to discuss the situation.
The following morning when we arrived down at reception the front desk staff had already printed out a contract stating that we had chose to move rooms and that we agree not to claim for compensation for the downgrade in the room. After discussion with the manager on duty we rectified this situation, however I do feel that it was not professional to have this contract pre typed and given to us without even discussing the situation.
Overall the room change was much better and had we known about the likelihood of ants and insects getting in to the room and that the pool is ice cold we would not have booked this room.
The infinity pool is nice but the pool down at the spa is much better and this is where we spent most of our time. The spa is amazing and I highly recommend getting the river side package you leave feeling amazing. All the staff down at the spa are fantastic as are the waiting staff and Wayan (the chef) is fantastic.
Overall this is a beautiful resort with amazing views, I feel that the overselling of the villas and the lack of warmth and friendliness which is something we have seen and experienced from the resort in Nusa Dua and from meeting Balinese people during our 10night stay in Bali really needs to be worked on. I do feel that the front desk staff let the Maya resort down during out visit.

Room Tip: Book a superior room as it has amazing views across the resort and paddy fields. Only book a villa if your good with creepy crawlys!!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisGW-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayaUbud, Public Relations Manager at Maya Ubud Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Mr. Chris,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Maya Ubud and for also taking time to review Maya Ubud here. Your detailed review and rating is highly appreciated.

It’s good to learn that you had a pleasant experience with our pool villa and enjoyed most of what the resort has to offer.

We look forward to your next trip here.

Sincerely yours,

Tri Widiyastuti
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Wow! I had high expectations for this hotel and was not disappointed. Location is beautiful, nestled amongst the forest and surrounding rice terraces with perfectly pristine hotel grounds you couldn’t wish for a more scenic and tranquil getaway. We had a garden villa, spacious and beautifully designed with a large four poster bed and huge bathtub. I did have a couple of niggles with the villa however but certainly not enough to mark the hotel down.. there were hardly any sockets in the room! I had to unplug the espresso machine to plug in my mosquito repellent (extremely necessary given the surroundings) and the only other socket was in the bathroom so we were having to take turns charging up our phones in the bathroom, which I found very odd. Also there wasn’t much space for the tea and coffee making facilities so making a coffee on a morning was rather awkward, and the aforementioned espresso machine produced almost cold espressos. My last issue before I get back to the many positives, was that the drinks in the minibar and food and drink in general in the hotel were quite overpriced. I am aware that prices tend to be inflated in high end hotels but after having just come from another 5 star resort in sanur where the prices were very reasonable we were a little shocked at the high prices here, especially as the hotel is so beautiful we were reluctant to leave! That said we did eat here several times and the food was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the teppanyaki evening which we did think was decent value, and they do a happy hour for drinks from 6-8pm so it’s worth taking advantage of that. ( And the cocktails are fabulous!) They also run a free shuttle service to and from ubud throughout the day which is handy as it’s too far to walk, taxis home at night are cheap enough and you can barter. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a bit of luxury in incredible surroundings, just be prepared to pay a little extra for the pleasure!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank helenora85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayaUbud, Public Relations Manager at Maya Ubud Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Ms. Helenora,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Maya Ubud and for also taking time to review Maya Ubud here. Your detailed review and rating is highly appreciated.

It’s good to learn that you had a pleasant experience with our garden villa and enjoyed most of what the resort has to offer.

We look forward to your next trip here.

Sincerely yours,

Tri Widiyastuti
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

After staying at the sister property (Maya Sanur) we were looking forward to our stay at Maya Ubud, The things we liked were:
The private bungalows, the beautiful grounds & setting, the spa and pool, the hotel staff were generally very helpful
Things we didn't like: The service in the restaurant is the worst we have experienced in a long time! We dined there one evening and it took forever to place our order, then it took a very long time to get our food. We asked multiple times for some bread before we finally got some. Overall a bad experience for food that was nothing great!
The other thing we didn't like is they overcharge to use their shuttle into town (the hotel is not in the heart of Ubud) in the evenings and our driver didn't know where he was going and didn't speak any English, It is much better to take a taxi - they know the area really well and are much more reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayaUbud, Public Relations Manager at Maya Ubud Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Mr. Barry,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Maya Ubud and for also taking time to review Maya Ubud here. Your detailed review and rating is highly appreciated.

It’s good to learn that you had a pleasant experience with our Spa at Maya and enjoyed most of what the resort has to offer.

We look forward to your next trip here.

Sincerely yours,

Tri Widiyastuti
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

My partner and I stayed a week here and it was perfection from start to finish. At first we were a bit concerned that the resort might be a bit too big (thus lacking in personality or charm) but not a problem here. Yes it is a big property but you never loose that intimate feel. There are different pools, each with its own charm and different from each other. The location of the entire resort is WOW - a real feeling of being in the jungle. The level of quality and service is everything you could hope for. The food was amazing and the rooms very comfortable. The spa is a dream and good value-for-money. A WINNER!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljeffOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayaUbud, Public Relations Manager at Maya Ubud Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Mr. TraveljeffOslo,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Maya Ubud and for also taking time to review Maya Ubud here. Your detailed review and rating is highly appreciated.

It’s good to learn that you had a pleasant experience with our environment and enjoyed most of what the resort has to offer.

We look forward to your next trip here.

Sincerely yours,

Tri Widiyastuti
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

I have always believed that the one thing that can set a place apart from all the rest is its people. That is absolutely true after the amazing afternoon we spent at our Maya Cooking Class located at the Maya Ubud Resort and Spa. Citra and Wayan do an amazing job which will leave you with memories to last a lifetime. First, we were greeted in the lobby by Citra who escorted us to the beautiful outdoor kitchen which is situated in the middle of a garden where fresh vegetables and spices are being grown. She welcomes you with a beautiful and refreshing cold tea drink and refresher towel. Next we were seated at a beautiful set table and introduced to the many wonderful dishes we would prepare during the class. Next we meet Wayan-- the wonderful Maya Chef who introduced us to the dishes with a beautifully appointed recipe book that we would get to keep. After that, Citra and Wayan helped up into our aprons, we washed our hands, and we were ready to embark on a culinary journey. We have taken cooking classes all over the world, and this one was so well organised and moved at the perfect pace. It was so much more than just throwing ingredients into a pan. Wayan has a magical way of showing how all the components come together to create the perfect dish. He makes certain that you capture all the senses that go into authentic Balinese cooking. And is knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions about Balinese culture and cuisine. Throughout the class he made sure we cooked with a smile as it just makes everything better! His sincerity and smile was there from start to finish. Together we created many tasty and beautiful dishes with Wayan teaching us ways that we could create these dishes on our own at home. After the class we were seated at the beautiful table and presented with an absolute feast of everything we created. It was done so in the most elegant way and we were made to feel as those we had gone from the kitchen into a 5 star restaurant. Citra was wonderful attending to us, offering us drinks, and moving us (at our pace) through the courses with new plates, etc. This is experience was the highlight of our holiday in Ubud, and it is so highly recommended. I don't know if the Maya uses other chefs for the course, but I would highly recommend you request the team of Citra and Chef Wayan who will make this spectacular afternoon something to remember!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SIEMPRESITGETAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayaUbud, Public Relations Manager at Maya Ubud Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Mr. Siempresitgetan,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Maya Ubud and for also taking time to review Maya Ubud here. Your detailed review and rating is highly appreciated.

It’s good to learn that you had a pleasant experience with our cooking class and enjoyed most of what the resort has to offer.

We look forward to your next trip here.

Sincerely yours,

Tri Widiyastuti
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews