We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
23
13
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
13
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews filtered water active volcano ol doinyo lengai his team footprints eco accommodation environment tents tanzania flamingos camp lake safari guide sunrise culture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We spent two nights at Halisi Tented Camp at Lake Natron as part of a 15 day safari arranged by the UK firm, Go2Tanzania. Food and service were both good. Surprisingly, Halisi camp does not offer any bottled water at all (even for purchase) but, instead, provides filtered water. Although fine in principle, post-filtration contamination is a key risk. The walk to the hominid footprints and lake shore and flamingos is hot but well worth it. The walk to the waterfalls is a bit of a scramble up and around rocks and the falls themselves not particularly impressive.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

The lodge is located between the lake and the waterfall. Tents are simple, but functional. Good beds. Bucket shower and chemical toilet in each tent. Not luxurious, but all you need.
A bit run down, most torch lights not working, thus none in the tents and even the guides do not all have them.
It is pretty windy and thus noisybin he tents during the night.
Dinner was good. Lunchbox very minimalistic.
Friendly staff.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anginafrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We took a break from the traditional safari circuit with two days in Lake Natron. It was a great respite from travel in a beautiful, although rugged, location.

Our camp manager, Nicholas, met us and gave us our briefing upon arrival -- he was very personable and highly visible throughout our stay. The highlight of the trip was a visit with him, our driver, and our Masai waterfall guide on our second day over drinks in Engarasero village.

Accommodations are much more comfortable that you can rightly expect in such a remote location -- raised beds with mattresses, an outdoor couch for lounging, and solar-powered lighting. Showers are upon request but arrive promptly with ample hot water, and the chemical toilets are a huge step up from traditional camping facilities.

Service at breakfast, lunch and dinner (not to mention sundowners) is prompt and friendly (and the beer is cold!) The food was well-prepared and ample, with even our picky twelve-year old commenting favorably (probably our best meals of the trip).

Natron is off the beaten path, and requires some effort to get to, but it's definitely an experience that you will not have elsewhere. One caution -- it is quite hot and windy, and it is at the foot of an active volcano, so you WILL experience dust; the waterfall hike that is offered by the camp makes up for it. Bring light clothes and good shoes and you will have an amazing time.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 194diannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

This eco lodge offers excellent food and service. We were impressed by the attentiveness of the staff and how they went out of their way to help us especially the manager Nicholas.

The accommodation was clean and comfortable but I feel overpriced for what is provided. Needless to say compared to other camps it is reasonable!

The only draw back was the wind and the enormous quantities of dust which settled on everything and everyone but that is not the lodge's fault. Lake Natron is a rather inhospitable kind of place with a raw beauty that takes your breath away.

Walking to the waterfalls was definitely the highlight!

Room tip: Make sure the tent you choose is not in the path of heavy winds and dust.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Moochela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We stayed to nights at this tented camp. As others have said, it is primitive, but with all the luxury you need. Nicholas, the camp manager, was a lot of fun. The cook was wonderful and the proportions too generous. It is ideally located near Lake Natron and close to a spectacular waterfall. Our Masia guide to the Lake and the waterfalls was wonderful. Learned so much about the culture and had fun! Yes it is dusty and windy, but you are staying in the middle of a Masai village with hot showers and beer. What more can you ask for.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynnd351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews