We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
291
42
22
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
291
42
22
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dunes lodge mountain view suite the main lodge base camp bucket list magical place beautiful surroundings three days nature reserve plunge pool chef guide scenery desert namibia safari tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2022

We just want to say some thoughts we have concerning the policy of the Wolwedans lodges.
All over Namibia there are expensive lodges and there is nothing wrong with it. But when one make one of the most beautiful surroundings of the country private and only put accommodation at extremely high rates…This is so wrong!
They have very fancy words to justify their policy that is nothing more than ‘earning as much money as possible’.
Nobody has the right to claim a beautiful place of this size for the few rich. The treasures of mother earth are for everyone. We all live on the same planet.
Installing a campsite for some tents won't overcrowd the reserve and gives the opportunity to ALL people to enjoy this extremely beauty.
It seems that they don’t want to deal with ‘lower people’.

Date of stay: March 2022
1  Thank martinesamoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

This stop is a must when coming to Namibia.

From the moment we booked out trip, we knew that 1 night in this magical place would not be enough. this place blew our minds.

From the kindness of the people, to the landscapes, the activities, the food, EVERYTHING was perfect.

We cannot recommend this place enough, it was absolutely magical.

We will be back, definitely.

The Trancart Family

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_Trancart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

Stunning landscapes ; gorgeous lodges in sync with nature ; fantastic knowledgeable guide and excellent cook (jakes and John);
And quite exceptional : a paradise for activity lovers - ebiking and hiking - this is hard to find in Namibian lodges

Room tip: We flew in per private flight, arranged by wolwedans reservations, highly recommended
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KristinMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2019

Rooms are perched high on the dune with expansive views. They are large, well-equiped and sufficiently far from the restaurant area to offer privacy whilst sufficiently easy to access after a bottle of wine to mean that there is no strain. The food is excellent and the service first class. Stars at night are crystal clear (best with little moon) and the excursions unforgettable. We were told "not as much wildlife as Etosha", which is true, but the variety (if you discount oryx) was immense. Bat-eared foxes, spotted eagle owls, pale chanting goshawks catching hairy footed gerbils, hartmann's zebra etc etc. Want to return!

Cold at night and first thing in the morning.

Room tip: All rooms are good; the further you walk from the restaurant, the greater your privacy.
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2019

We stayed in September 2019 and only are disappointed with one thing: our stay was too short!
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is simply perfect: it is surrounded by a vast desert in a private reserve (stargazing was unbelievable), where you will make no encounters except for the hotel staff and other guests. You will receive an amazing treatment and you can decide to simply stay at the structure (beautiful rooms and common areas, swimming pool available) or go for one of the activities. We chose to go for a scenic drive with sundowner (incredible) and a bushman walk in the morning: both are highly recommended. The food is great and you will eat at separate tables for breakfast and lunch, however dinner is usually organized around big tables where you have the chance to meet other guests. We found this a good idea, but you can always ask to remain separate from the others if you wish so.
Last comment for those who need such information: Wi-Fi only works in the common areas.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giacomopianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews