We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
291
42
22
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
291
42
22
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dunes lodge mountain view suite the main lodge base camp bucket list magical place beautiful surroundings three days nature reserve plunge pool chef guide scenery desert namibia safari tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

Stunning landscapes ; gorgeous lodges in sync with nature ; fantastic knowledgeable guide and excellent cook (jakes and John);
And quite exceptional : a paradise for activity lovers - ebiking and hiking - this is hard to find in Namibian lodges

Room tip: We flew in per private flight, arranged by wolwedans reservations, highly recommended
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KristinMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2019

Rooms are perched high on the dune with expansive views. They are large, well-equiped and sufficiently far from the restaurant area to offer privacy whilst sufficiently easy to access after a bottle of wine to mean that there is no strain. The food is excellent and the service first class. Stars at night are crystal clear (best with little moon) and the excursions unforgettable. We were told "not as much wildlife as Etosha", which is true, but the variety (if you discount oryx) was immense. Bat-eared foxes, spotted eagle owls, pale chanting goshawks catching hairy footed gerbils, hartmann's zebra etc etc. Want to return!

Cold at night and first thing in the morning.

Room tip: All rooms are good; the further you walk from the restaurant, the greater your privacy.
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2019

We stayed in September 2019 and only are disappointed with one thing: our stay was too short!
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is simply perfect: it is surrounded by a vast desert in a private reserve (stargazing was unbelievable), where you will make no encounters except for the hotel staff and other guests. You will receive an amazing treatment and you can decide to simply stay at the structure (beautiful rooms and common areas, swimming pool available) or go for one of the activities. We chose to go for a scenic drive with sundowner (incredible) and a bushman walk in the morning: both are highly recommended. The food is great and you will eat at separate tables for breakfast and lunch, however dinner is usually organized around big tables where you have the chance to meet other guests. We found this a good idea, but you can always ask to remain separate from the others if you wish so.
Last comment for those who need such information: Wi-Fi only works in the common areas.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giacomopianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2019 via mobile

I've read other reviews of Wolwedans and on balance I've decided to take everything said with a pinch of salt.
Our room was delightful with a stunning view to wake up to in the mornings. Fantasticly comfortable beds and warm duvets.
It was windy, particularly at night. The tent did flap considerably, maybe it needs tightening? There is a lot of sand/dust, it's the desert! I learnt very quickly not to leave anything out so didn't unpack. It was only for two nights! Plus I didn't fancy coming across any unexpected creepy crawlies in my clothes.
We totally understood the lack of water required managing so had no problem conserving as much as possible with showers and toilet. It's not rained for years. It must be hard.
Given this lodge is miles from the nearest food supply we also didn't mind the lack of menu choice. It makes it so much easier when you are just catering for numbers not variety. I can't imagine the logistics of food supplies!!
It was lovely to laze by the pool between drives.
The drives consisted mainly of the stunning scenery which did constantly change due to the shadows, with the occasional animal. But it was really the scenery and colours we wanted and got.
The staff we lovely, kind and considerate. They all attend the 'catering school' in the village so 'in training'. Everyone has to start somewhere! They are learning so some slack is needed at times but it wasn't a problem for us.
WiFi was only in the communal space (as with just about every lodge we stayed in). It didn't bother me personally, but given that this is 21stC and most of the people who can afford this sort of holiday/accommodation I think extending the WiFi to all rooms woul be useful.
I would give this lodge 4/5. Not 5 only due to lack of WiFi and flappy tent. If it hadn't been windy I probably wouldn't have noticed.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Walkinghomemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2019

What a jewel! The surrounding landscape is absolutely magical!!! Wake up to gorgeous sunrises with antelope strolling by your balcony. Enjoy gorgeous sundowners and starlit skies. Don't miss the nature hike with a bushman. The food, friendly service and accomodations are exceptional considering the setting.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews