We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An exceptional guide!

We were lucky enough to have James guide us for four fantastic days during our stay in Cape Town... read more

Reviewed 9 March 2023
Charlotte O
via mobile
fantastic

We made begin of January a two week trip in South Africa,and James was our guide and driver. James... read more

Reviewed 26 January 2020
Ghjk123456
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
15
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We were arriving for our first visit to this city and country at noon. We needed someone to pick us up, transfer to our Inn, and give us an overview of the area, and fit in some photography. Ericka met us as we exited immigration, took us to her vehicle, and while driving to our lodge, began an interesting and informative overview of the city and country. Native born, she could answer any question.
We then visited Boulder National Park and a wonderful photography opportunity with the penguins and many other birds present. She was prepared to continue with other sights, but we were pooped after 48 hours of travel. A quick stop at a grocery and ATM, and she returned us to our lodge, carrying our purchases up to our room.
Super start to what we hoped to be a wonderful tour of this part of the world.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank michaelcY9549PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James P, Owner at Cape Medley Tours and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you Michael and Carole for your kind words and the opportunity to show you around. I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in South Africa.

James & Ericka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We spent a full day with James who helped us a lot understanding the culture and seeing beautiful places.

Not only is James a highly professional guide ( with a great and bright knowledge on many different topics), but also a very nice and polite person, showing a lot of respect to his customers.

We can for sure recommend James to anybody wishing to know more about the region.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank luxmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James P, Owner at Cape Medley Tours and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for your brilliant review and kind words. It was a honour to have your family join me on the day. Hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

A warm (well know) referral from Holland introduced us to James. Despite the short term James was more than polite in vinding a way to guide us to Stellenbosch. This was the last day of our 21-days self-prepared journey through South Africa.

A lot of questions unanswerred about South-Africa James connected the dots and also created a wonderful day in Stellenbosch and this beautiful country.

Next time we definitely engage James in our traveling plans. Thank you again for the great support and wonderful insights.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank tont754
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James P, Owner at Cape Medley Tours and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you for spending the day with me. Look forward to our next encounter Ton-Tijn and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

James Parrington took my friend and I around Cape Town and the Garden Route. His punctuality was impeccable as was his driving. He was very informative and as two middle aged ladies we felt very safe with him. We would highly recommend James.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank 869deel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2016

James met us at Port Elizabeth airport and drove us out to Addo National Park where we spent a couple of days. We then had a wonderful trip along the Garden Route, via Knysna, Hermanus and several other spots, seeing whales and penguins en route to Cape Town. James's comprehensive knowledge of South African history and culture made the trip interesting and very enjoyable.
We had the holiday of a lifetime thanks to James and would highly recommend his services.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James P, Owner at Cape Medley Tours and Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Thank you Tony & Sue so much for the wonderful review. I loved having you on tour with me and hope we will see you back here again some day in the future.
Best wishes to you both.
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews