We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great day on the River

Had a fantastic day kayaking with my Granddaughter. John and Karen were friendly, welcoming, and... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Happiness696658
Amazing!!

Absolutely amazing day, great experience. John & Karen extremely helpful, providing all the... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
jackiebP3869QE
Read all 485 reviews
  
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
484
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
484
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dry bags great fun life jackets buoyancy aids met john beautiful river last minute booking great equipment brilliant service great trip safety equipment fantastic family explained everything picnic lunch amazing experience packed lunch kayaking experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2021

Great time!! It was our second time hiring a canoe from Elveys-Canoe. We had another cracking day! As before John was incredibly helpful in giving advice on what routes to take and what to expect and practical assistance in use of the canoe.

We hired a two person canoe for my husband and I and our 2 year old daughter. John gave us a small seat for our daughter to sit on in the canoe and she was quite comfortable and secure and even fell asleep sitting there for the return leg.

We decided to take the route to Teeston after going the other direction the previous time. Lovely to see the swans and picturesque views. A gentle couple of weirs at Teeston to do which our daughter really enjoyed and then stopped for a picnic. I think it took us about 1.5hrs there and the same back.

The hire was really flexible and after arriving back and calling we were met within 5 mins to return the canoe.

A lovely couple who we really enjoyed speaking to and look forward to seeing again on our next hire!

Thanks!

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank katkorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2021

Another great day on the river. A couple of us had done this before and loved it, so we wanted to bring the rest of our group.
Arrived and parked. John, Karen and Kamper were there to greet us, such a lovely, welcoming couple. And the dog... the crest dog I’ve ever seen!

Safety briefing - done
Kayaks, buoyancy jackets, helmets, dry bags, safety pots, map - all included
Quick carry of the kayaks across the road and a get in / get out of the kayak demo
Photos! One of the group had us matching jumpers made as a surprise! Kayaking King / Queen and a couple of obscene ones I cannot type here!

Onto the river! More photos! Thanks Karen and John for taking and sending over the photos, they’re great!
Such a beautiful day, paddling on the river. Stopping for tea and biscuits.
We all braved the water chutes, which were great fun, even if we did get soaked!
12km’s (ish) later, and we all made back to the launch pad, tired from paddling and laughing so much!
Quick call to Karen and they were back with us in 5-minutes to pick up the kayaks. After a debrief of our day and lots of cuddles with Kamper, it was time to head back across the road, for a picnic next to the river.
In all, a perfectly, perfect day. John and Karen are the loveliest people, highly recommend booking their kayaks for a day on the river.
We can’t wait to book in another day.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

Fantastic!!

We had such a lovely day in our canoe! The owners were super helpful and explained everything fantastically since we were first timers. We got a barrel to keep all our belongings and phones dry and the whole start to finish was perfect.

It was so lovely, great route with places to stop off and have picnics:)

Definitely recommend, 100/10!!

We will be back!! X

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank georgiafbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021

Me and my partner had a fantastic day out. The hosts were very lovely, welcoming and full of helpful tips and information for being out on the water. The riverside views were pituresque and enchanting and we would definitely reccomend! Great service and good value for money. Thank you for a memorable day out.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank sophiedU9326ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Absolutely brilliant experience. The hosts were wonderful and though I did fall of my kayak once, It was lovely being out on the water after a long time. Would recommend this to anyone who loves the outdoors and Is prepared to get a bit wet and workout your arms! Whether you kayak, canoe or have not the foggiest idea about boating, not coming here would be to miss out. Take it from a 12 year old.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank 675ishanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews