We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little find”
other travellers have booked this property
The Tavern at Timberland holiday cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tavern at Timberland holiday cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Tavern at Timberland holiday cottage.
Outside, al fresco dining area
Porch
Dining area
Kitchen
Lounge
Double bedroom, access from twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Garden, for the use of guests.
Houghton House, originally a 17th century public house.
The Tavern at Timberland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Timberland, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Spice2uk
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely little find”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Just returned for a short break visiting family in the area, this cottage is a really lovely place to stay, great location for visiting the area. Everything you could need for a short or long stay.
We was a group of four adults and a dog and plenty of room. Very warm. Very warm welcome on arrival and the welcome pack is a nice touch. Well return.
The only negative I could find was the television was a little high on the wall but that's only my opinion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Able to take the dog
Liked least: Tv to high
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dreamerLi...
lincs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and luxurious in the lounge.”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in the one bedroomed lounge, this is a lovely place with everything you need to get away and chill out.
Beautiful log fire stove, tea and coffee provided, lovely toiletries even hair straighteners!
Super comfy bed, beautiful linen and the breakfast we ordered was spot on! You must try it if you go.
Very friendly and welcoming hosts who have thought of everything to make your stay feel special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Thank you for such a glowing review Sharon, it was a pleasure having you both to stay. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john f
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome little hideaway. Loved it!”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We loved our 2 night stay here. We travelled with our 2 kids, 11 and 9 years old, they were equally as impressed as we were. Everything is well presented and comfortable. The kitchen is greatly equipped to cook for yourselves, living room is lovely to chill and relax, bedrooms are extremely comfortable. There's a cupboard full of board games for all the family to enjoy, a great escape from Playstations and ipads etc. Sue and Duncan are really great hosts, very friendly, helpful and not too busy for a friendly natter. Their welcome pack speaks volumes. Bread, eggs, milk, OJ, wine, chocolates, how many hosts go that far to make you feel welcome. I cannot praise them enough. Thank you very much. We hope to see you in the new year. Kids are already discussing dates.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2015
What a lovely review! We would love to see you all again in the New Year. Many thanks for the lemon tree John, I hope it's still thriving next time you visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay very friendly owners”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We arrived on a wet Friday night to warm and welcoming cottage . The Tavern is very tastefully decorated and very comfortable . It was spotlessly clean with a welcoming basket of basic provisions and a bottle of wine waiting for us. The owners, Sue and Duncan are a lovely warm and friendly couple . Couldn't fault the cottage at all. Our daughter and son in law stayed in The lounge which Doesn't have a kitchen but is an amazing room , given the same care and attention as The Tavern.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for your glowing review Jackie, it was a pleasure having you and your lovely family to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nasu-machi, Japan
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind words Maria, we look forward to welcoming you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing