We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet respite”
Review of Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Spencer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017

One stays at the Canyon Inn to get away from "the madding crowd". It is a low-key, quiet inn with a large stone hearth in the open area where guests and visitors can sit on a rocking chair contemplating the embers, borrow a puzzle from the shelf or simply play cards, knit or chat. In the reception area, one can buy the typical sundries and pop, but what makes this place special is the local fare and wares available f.eks. cards by Kenny Bucklew, postcards with motifs from the park taken by Marc Evans, Clay City pottery stoneware, and flavored popcorn. There is a distinct emphasis on promoting what is local, nearby and the beauty of the park itself.

Outside in front are Adirondack type chairs underneath he towering trees which offer shade even on the hottest days, or you can use the Inn's guest pool conveniently located some 20 paces from the end of the west wing. My family availed ourselves of the tennis and volleyball court, too.

The dining room with its shiny wooden floors, is divided into two sections: the bird room where every table has an unhindered view of the many feeders where Indiana's birds are to be seen and the occasional squirrel skillfully manoeuvres themselves for a free meal. The other dining area is where the locally renowned buffet stands. It offers two soups daily, a salad bar and a warm/hot foods section. They offer a large, typical Hoosier Sunday breakfast buffet, too. Do not skip the opportunity to have a biscuit, or as many as your caloric conscience will allow! Portions from the a la carte menu are generous, midwestern ones. Order the fried tenderloin sandwich with the intention of eating a meal!
The Inn does not serve alcohol, and my one criticism pertaining to the food is that although the pie selection is good, the crusts are not.

The size of the rooms do vary. The baths as well, and I am personally fond of the ones with the small fully tiled shower stalls. Ask for a room with brick walls and pine accentuates; they offer a more cozy atmosphere. The decor is not modern, but modest. As the Inn was originally a sanatorium, I believe their philosophy to be that sufficient is good although I did have a choice of five pillows on one double bed. There are ice-machines, telephone and a tv (not plasma, not HD), and refrigerators can be rented.

As stated earlier, one goes to the Canyon Inn to meet friends and family while perhaps attending a reunion (one can reserve a shelter at the park for daytime picnics), to hike the trails or just to steer clear of chain hotels in that part of the state. I keep going back to stay there because the staff is efficient and polite, the rooms are modestly priced, the location is stupendous if you're looking for quiet. Rooms are easy to book online, and have experienced, as on this last stay, that special requests or messages to the management are always answered even is they cannot be met. That, in my opinion, is the first step in good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with brick walls if you like a more personal, rustic touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Artemis231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

We were here on a rare cool, dry day in July. 69 degrees and sunny. We walked Trail 3 to the falls and had so much fun rock hopping and finding fossils in the limestone along the creek. The wooded trails are magnificent walks through Hoosier paradise. The tulip poplars and beeches soar up into the sky like magnificent sentinels. We had lunch in the Canyon Inn dining room. The food was better than any we've had at any other Indiana state park! The ambiance was idyllic as we dined alongside songbirds at the many bird feeders at the window. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The hotel employees were wonderful.....so courteous and attentive. They really wanted to please. When we told them we felt uncomfortable in our third floor room with only the dormers for light, they quickly got us into a much more comfortable room. While the rooms are very small, the grounds are welcoming with patio furniture at hotel entrance and chairs on the lawn under beautiful trees. The pool, playground, trails and horse rides give you plenty to do.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tututravel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

we stayed in the Canyon Inn in early June. The staff is first-rate. The Inn is very well maintained, especially given its age. The food in the restaurant is not fancy, but is very delicious. We have stayed here before and the Canyon Inn continues to be one of our favorite destinations. It's a state park and outclasses any number of private resorts.

Room Tip: We stay in the studio suite. Lots of room and top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RKP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, General Manager at Canyon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at McCormick Creek's Canyon Inn. We value our repeat guests and appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

If you are in the area and looking for a neat place to stay, you cannot beat the Canyon Inn. Rustic Inn with rustic rooms. Nice area to hang out if it is rainy or cold with a fire place. Always a great staff, with great customer service. Will return this winter.

The only issue I have with the whole place is that you have to pay. $7.00 fee to enter park, even if you are staying at the Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms in the wing added years ago, are much nice then the older wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 812Mantle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, General Manager at Canyon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Canyon Inn. I am happy to hear you will be returning this winter. You'll like a winter stay here. It is one of the best times to stay if your are wanting a relaxing getaway. I hope to see you then.
Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
20.1 km away
Cascades Inn
Cascades Inn
#15 of 24 in Bloomington
43 reviews
19.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 24 in Bloomington
126 reviews
20.2 km away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
21.8 km away
Courtyard Bloomington
Courtyard Bloomington
#14 of 24 in Bloomington
234 reviews
19.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Inn

Address: 451 McCormick's Creek Place, McCormick's Creek State Park, Spencer, IN 47460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Spencer
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spencer
Price Range: R1 352 - R2 062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful scenery, gracious staff and history blend together at Canyon Inn. Located in McCormick's Creek State Park, Indiana's first, we offer a full service dining room, modern amenities, and our front lobby consists of canyons, cliffs, and waterfalls. Located just 15 miles from Bloomington and Indiana University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Spencer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing