We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever ”
Review of Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Spencer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Very relaxing very enjoying as you walk through the doors very warm and inviting very friendly staff the restaurant it's got a good selection sit by the fireplace is very relaxing I recommend coming here for a week or weekend

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank mlones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISPIManagement, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

There are many specials throughout the week, so be sure to check those out at Indianainns.com. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We truly enjoyed the three days and two nights at the Canyon Inn at Spencer, Indiana. We have joined our friends for two for one night specials several times and will be joining them again in mid February 2017. We look forward to the quiet time and great food at the inn.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank riffel1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

I stayed here with a few friends while visiting IU for the weekend. Bloomington hotels cost so much on football weekends, so this was a much more affordable choice, and it's only about 20 minutes away. We arrived after dark and left fairly early in the morning, so we didn't get to explore the grounds. But the inn itself is quaint ... a typical state park inn. Nothing fancy, but quite comfortable. The front desk employees were so friendly and super easy to work with. I made a mistake with my reservation, but they were kind enough to adjust things for me. I really appreciated the good customer service. Our large suite had two queen beds, a sofa bed, a small table with chairs, a mini fridge and a TV. There was plenty of space to move about. The room and bathroom were clean, but as others have said the decor and furnishings are dated. But that adds to the inn's charm, I suppose, because it just feels very comfortable. We met friends in Bloomington for brunch, so we didn't eat at the inn's restaurant, but the menu sure looked good. We enjoyed our quick, overnight stay. I'm guessing a two- or three-day stay would be a relaxing, enjoyable experience! (Oh, the WIFI service was spotty. The connection wasn't very strong.)

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ohiomom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, General Manager at Canyon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Thank you for your review. I hope you have the opportunity to return to Canyon Inn and stay a few days to enjoy all McCormick's Creel State Park has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Dated! The outside of The Canyon Inn at McCormick's Creek State Park is very pretty and nice. The landscaping is welcoming and it looks like you should want to stay here. The front desk staff was very friendly and nice ready to help us with anything. However, once we got to our room with an actual key and went inside, the experience went downhill very quick. It looked like you walked into your 85 year old Aunt's spare bedroom that hadn't been cleaned thoroughly in years. The decor was kind of cute but very old. The carpet looked dirty. The bed was not very comfortable and it all made us question why we were staying there. There were spots on the wall in the bathroom that made you realize that the cleaning crew must only touch the tub, sink and toilet. This Inn needs updated and cleaned badly! It wasn't awful and was decent enough to stay one night but I can't imagine ever staying there again. I assume, since it is a State Park Inn, that they have decided not to renovate it because of costs, which is sad. It was a disappointment since the outside is so pretty and the park is just great!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This is one of seven State Park Inns and it is as beautiful and quaint as a lot of the other ones. They have different types of rooms. I stayed in a historic room and it was just right for one person. Loved the décor and the staff was awesome. Rooms were very clean and the food in the dining room was excellent. Next time I want to eat out where can watch the birds, there is a whole line of windows in the dining room that has feeders outside of them where you can watch the birds and the wildlife. Buffets were excellent.

Room Tip: They have multiple types of rooms so make sure you ask for what would be the best fit for you and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
20.2 km away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
375 reviews
20.1 km away
Cascades Inn
Cascades Inn
#16 of 24 in Bloomington
47 reviews
21.6 km away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
Showers Inn
Showers Inn
#1 of 9 in Bloomington
194 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Inn

Address: 451 McCormick's Creek Place, McCormick's Creek State Park, Spencer, IN 47460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Spencer
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spencer
Price Range: R1 372 - R1 736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful scenery, gracious staff and history blend together at Canyon Inn. Located in McCormick's Creek State Park, Indiana's first, we offer a full service dining room, modern amenities, and our front lobby consists of canyons, cliffs, and waterfalls. Located just 15 miles from Bloomington and Indiana University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Spencer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing