We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camping love it here- worth the trip”

Potato Creek State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we have stayed here for camping, park fills up quickly here. campground is clean, sites have always been big, we love having the bike trail to use, we love having the ability to rent boats etc. we enjoy being able to take out our kayak and do some fishing on the lake. we haven't swam in the water. there is a camp store that has almost anything you would need. the trails in the park are nice to hike. seems to have a little bit of everything, we often see staff patrolling the park. tends to be quite we have never had an issue with noise while staying here. we plan on camping here every year.

1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJTibbets, Park Naturalist at Potato Creek State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great review. We also have a campground and trails just for horses and their people, several beautiful family cabins for rent, a nature center with free year 'round programs, as well as miles and miles of mountain bike trails. We hope you come back to visit SOON!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bike trail"
in 7 reviews
"nature center"
in 15 reviews
"pots and pans"
in 3 reviews
"creek state park"
in 10 reviews
"camp store"
in 5 reviews
"large lake"
in 3 reviews
"boat rentals"
in 4 reviews
"swimming beach"
in 3 reviews
"wooded trails"
in 2 reviews
"bass"
in 2 reviews
"birthday parties"
in 2 reviews
"fire ring"
in 2 reviews
"camp ground"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"notre dame"
in 3 reviews
"indiana dunes"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018

This is the rudest park I have ever stayed in, the rangers behaved like storm troopers,
they have nothing to do all day except harass people who are trying to enjoy the park,
my family never broke a single rule while we stayed in the cabins and yet we were approached and admonished (in advance, just in case we were thinking of breaking the rules) continually, they were sneaking into our camp in the middle of the night, just to say " I'm glad you didn't park your car on the road way, because that is against the rules" I don't know what is wrong with those people but after spending a fortune to stay there for a week I will never go back there.

2  Thank Kirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJTibbets, Park Naturalist at Potato Creek State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for letting us know about the problems you encountered during your visit. If you had contacted someone in the park office or nature center at the time, we would have loved the opportunity to make this right so you could have better enjoyed your visit. We aim for excellent customer service and continually strive to make great memories for our guests. I will pass your comments along to the property manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

This state park is very well run with many options. Fishing, camping, bike trails, nature center, swimming with a snack shop, walking trails with an abundance of wild life.

1  Thank Dave46574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJTibbets, Interpretive Naturalist at Potato Creek State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you for your stellar review of Potato Creek State Park. We're glad you find such value in your visits, and hope you come back again SOON! The nature center has winter hours and weekend programs, and our family cabins are available all year. We also offer winter camping! And ice fishing is very popular here, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I grew up just a few miles up the road from Potato Creek State Park, and it has always held a special place in my heart. Whether you like hiking, fishing, camping or simply enjoying nature - you'll find all that and more at Potato Creek.

I particularly enjoy exploring the many hiking trails, but there are canoe, paddleboat and kayak rentals for anyone to enjoy Worster Lake. At certain times of the year, you can even see bald eagles or ospreys roaming the skies above.

My wife and I now have a State Park pass so that we can come here as often as we like. We enjoy going for walks through the beautifully-wooded trails.

It is a beautiful place, and the perfect way to enjoy a few hours in northern Indiana!

1  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJTibbets, Interpretive Naturalist at Potato Creek State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for the 5-stars, and for the lovely review. Potato Creek State Park really is a special and very beautiful natural area. And winter here is as amazing as summer, in its own way. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Potato Creek SP is not the showiest of parks but a pretty spot with lots of recreation possibilities. Pick up a property map at the gatehouse to help you choose your trail (hiking or biking or horseback riding) or head to the beach (in season) for a dip in the large lake. There are fishing piers, plenty of picnic shelters, a nature center, campgrounds,everything you need for either a day trip or longer stay. This park has no inn or restaurant but snacks are available at the swimming beach.

1  Thank 54Nancy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJTibbets, Interpretive Naturalist at Potato Creek State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks for the thorough review! We also have a camp store with an entrance off the main road with a nice selection of supplies and picnic foods. It is open from April or so through some time in October each year. And the nature center is open all year (closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays November through early May), with weekend activities throughout the winter - come see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potato Creek State Park also viewed

 

Been to Potato Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing