We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Tuscan experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Prosecco at the pool to celebrate your holiday
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prosecco at the pool to celebrate your holiday
The Villa in Summer from the fields below The exquisite view with ever-changing sky
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Prosecco at the pool to celebrate your holiday
The Villa in Summer from the fields below
The exquisite view with ever-changing sky
I Cinghiali, The Wild Boars, a beautifully restored country villa in the Tuscan hills
The village of Caprignana - home to the villa
All these for only 20 Euros at the local market
Breakfast on the lower terrace
Vista of villages scattered down the valley
A typical sunrise from many of the villa windows
The village, in a timeless community in a gentle part of Tuscany
Dining and drinks on the large terrace is mandatory for guests!
The dining room laid out for a typical Tuscan feast
From the terrace to the village church
Late afternoon skies
A village field underneath the marble mountains
Late afternoon drinks with a view
The largest old stone oven in the district, waiting for your feast
Fresh, yummy produce
The fire place dating from 1826 in the sitting room
One of 3 almost identical luxury king sized bedrooms
Bread, cheese and wine. What more could you want?
The cooks haven: every pot, pan and utensil you need to cook up a Tuscan storm!
Stunning 12 meter pool with a view
The dining room table opens out to cater for 12 guests
Another of the 3 luxury king bedrooms
One of the two twin bedded rooms
The shed full of ancient work tools and base of the huge outdoor terrace
Stunning view of the 10th Century fortress on the hill opposite
The Villa with two large terraces, the best view in Tuscany and a beautiful pool
The large terrace ideal for languid lunches or gin and tonics at sunset
The bright downstairs bathroom with wet area walk in shower
Large bright white full size bathroom upstairs with bath and walk in wet area shower
Figs from the tree in the orchard. Yum!
The lovely sitting room
I Cinghiali, a beautiful rural retreat for your family and friends
Lucca: ancient walled city with Roman ampitheatre and 72 churches
Castlenuovo - the must go to Thursday market
Inside the barn: just in case you want to rent that space too
Perfect on a hot day
The stone trough and fountain from where we drink beautiful water
The pool from the barn terrace
The beautiful stone 100 year old villa I Cinghiali nestled in the green hills of the Garfagnana
The village sport of cheese bowling
The valley is home to many lovely shrines
Ah...every woman loves a good market: great stuff and very inexpensive
The always changing view
Food, glorious food!
A light lunch at home
Pontecosi near the villa
Vernazza one of the 5 towns of the Cinque Terre - less than 2 hours away
Pizza....for about €7
The artistic town of Barga nearby
Food has a timeless quality in these hills
The ancient amphitheater at Lucca
From the garden to the oven
Breakfast
A procession through the village
Flag throwing in the fortzza
A nearby town
The terrace - waiting for your dinner to be served
Castlenuovo in Spring
The original owners of the villa in the 1930's
The hills in Springtime
A groaning table
Autumn colours in the woods
The small orchard on the property
Villa Grabau lemonhouse - one of the wonderful villas you can visit near Lucca
Set for a candlelit dinner
Chunks of marble in the mountains near the villa
Seafood at a wonderful restaurant Ciccio at Bocca di Magra
Garfagnana honey is delicious
Lunch at Il Pozzo, Pieve Fosciana
The best coffee in town
Yum.
The best olive oil comes from the Lucca hills
No description needed!!
If you like your coffee strong, Italy is the place to be.
A groaning lunch table for two
Antipasto
Ravioli at La Baita - a must go to restaurant in nearby Corfino
At home - entree
Summer fruit in the marketplace
Summer calls for an Aperol spritz
Amazing purple aubergines
Lunch on the terrace
Meats in the local supermarket
Visit the cheese factory in the next village at Vibbiana and meet Fabrizio, son of the owners
Waiting for guests
Figs from my tree
Some of the different types of tomatoes at the market
Candlelit dinner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Caprignana, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jenniferc...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Tuscan experience”
Reviewed 2 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

After a relaxing and scenic train trip from Lucca we were only a ten minute drive from this idyllic Tuscan villa. Our first glimpse of the views over the valley was truly breathtaking.
This villa is the perfect place to experience a real taste of Tuscany. There are many places to explore without travelling too far- villages, markets, shops and restaurants. The other option is to just stay and relax at the villa and enjoy the view and time by the pool. We did both in our four night stay. We certainly left wanting more!!!
The accommodation is extremely comfortable and well set up.
This was our first trip to " The Wild Boars" , hopefully not our last!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2018
Mille Grazie Jennifer. It is wonderful to hear of your fabulous experience at I Cinghiali. Please come back and enjoy the serenity again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explore16...
1 review
“Fabulous relaxing location with access to many activities in the surrounding area”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We have just had a wonderful stay at the charming rustic Wild Boars Villa with its incredible view over the valley, town and fort of Castiglione di Garfagnana. Wild Boars is spacious and well equipped with everything you need for your holiday. It is a place to wind down from the fast pace of city life and enjoy the nature and attractive towns and villages of the area. It is an easy train ride to Lucca where we lunched inexpensively in the ancient amphitheatre area, took advantage of the tasteful shopping and immersed ourselves in the atmosphere of this lovely traditional town. Overall our holiday staying at Wild Boars Villa was a good balance between relaxation, exploration, sampling the local food and wine and savouring the history of this authentic part of Italy. I highly recommend Wild Boars Villa and I am looking forward to my next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had such a wonderful time and are planning to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariab201...
Brisbane Region, Australia
2 reviews
“Absolutely magnificent week, excellent accommodation, breath taking view and amazing location in Tuscany”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The view from the villa is breath taking. With our total of 13 people staying in both the studio and villa both are large and spacious enough to comfortably accommodate us all. The property and villa also allowed us do be able to have our own privacy, whether inside or outside, on the patios, under the gazebo or around the pool. All areas take in the wonderful panoramic view.

The Location is in the Tuscany Hills as well as not far from towns and villages which made our daily touring a pleasure. If you want to visit Italy, Tuscany without all the tourists and experience authentic Italian living in the country then this is the villa for you. I look forward to returning again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Maria thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was lovely to host your group and I look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
176stephe...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Italys best kept secret”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had the most outstanding week here. We esoecially loved that there were not many tourists and we got to go to places the locals go.
Stunning view , small village.
Exceptional host
Definitely recommend this

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Lovely, thank you so much. It was an absolute pleasure having your family here and celebrating your mother's 80th birthday. I look forward to you returning for her 90th.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaF1...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Truly a Tuscan Dream Holiday!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a perfect way to top my European travels! A week relaxing by the pool and nightly visits to various villages as they celebrated their towns and gathered for a meal, dancing and local flavor. Shopping in nearby Castlenuovo was a success! Topped with espresso on the piazza. Then on to a magnificent 4 four course luncheon in the village of Corfino. The Villa location, nestled in the Tuscan hills, is warm and bright by day and cool and fresh at night making for perfect dreams. This is the spot if you want to bustle about all the villages and nearby Tuscan towns, tasting the unique culture and cuisine or if you prefer, to enjoy a good book relax by the pool sipping your favorite refreshing beverage. I can't wait to return! I encourage you to pay a visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views that were beautiful and ever changing, And lying by the spectacular pool fully equipped
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Grazie Mille. You are always welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing