We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sjoestrand Rorbuer
Nearby Hotels
Hattvika Lodge(Ballstad)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solsiden Brygge(Ballstad)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Ballstad(Ballstad)
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
4
8
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
8
5
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night here with our camping wagon and the place was quite OK. All the facilities that you might need exists even though the WiFi is quite slow. But the great thing about this place is the fishing trip! The fisherman that runs the trip is extremely friendly and helpful and it is very hard not to catch a fish. Fishing equipment is possible to borrow on the boat, but it is not exactly state of the art. If you have the possibility, bring your own equipment.

Stayed: August 2015
2  Thank Mikael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We stayed here one night during a fly-drive holiday. We'd had a terrible experience at another place and cut short our stay. One of the staff there suggested the Sjostrand Rorbuer.

Our "suite" was reasonably clean on arrival -- but that's because the outgoing occupants had done a reasonable job. That said, we left it cleaner than we found it. The main room had a small kitchen area, a dining table and two single beds. The separate bedroom had a single bunk over a double bed. We provided our own bedding and towels -- but you can rent these if required.

The shower room / toilet was spacious. The shower area is surrounded by a lip, and it's important to ensure that the shower curtain is inside this -- or the floor gets flooded (but it's reasonably easy to mop dry!)

WiFi was iffy in our room, but the very friendly owners were more than happy for us to sit in the café area, where the WiFi was solid.

Overall, this was better-than-average self-catering accommodation.

Room Tip: The layout of each "suite" is different -- if possible talk to the owners to identify the best for your needs before booking.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

How can they expect we leave the rorbuer clean if it was not clean at all? After staying in three different rorbuers in Lofoten this was the worst indeed. There is a small kitchen with no microwaves, no oven and range hood. The beds are in a very very narrow bedroom (I eventually slept on the sofa and my wife on the bed...), and two thin mattresses up to a steep ladder... There is no television. There is no wireless internet. There is only one restaurant in the area. There is only a small shop in the area, this means that you must drive to Leknes for shopping or eating.

Room Tip: Better to stay in Kabelvag, Ramberg or even Leknes. You won't miss any landscape or seascape and you will be close enough to the Viking museum.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We wanted to spend the night in a rorbuer, and wanted to see the Viking museum at Borg and Sjostrand Rorbuer fulfilled our desires. That said, American tourists need to be aware that this is not likely to be the best place for an overnight stay for them. First, the good. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and anxious to help you have a good time. There is a small kitchen in the rorbuer and you are encouraged to cook your own meals. The owners go out daily on their fishing boat and for a fee you can experience the life of a Norwegian fisherman. Now, for the cautions. The walls are thin: you hear your neighbors whenever they talk. The beds are up a narrow, steep ladder; the bathroom is on the main floor. Small children, older adults -- be warned! There is no television. There is no wireless internet. There is only one restaurant in the local area. Otherwise you have to drive into Leknes to eat. Restaurants in Leknes are closed by 8 pm. The rorbuer sit on a pier with no safety rail -- families with small children will need to watch children at all times.
If your travels take you to the Lofoten, I'd recommend that rather than driving all the way south to Ballstad, you stay at Kabelvag (just down the road from Svolvaer) and drive down from there to Borg to see the Viking museum. It should be about an hour trip. If you are a Viking afficianado, you can spend several hours at the museum, then drive to see the beach at Eggum and then back to Kabelvag. You'll have more eating and entertainment options available and honestly, won't miss any scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PJaneChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews