We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
44
20
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
20
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering the reserve game sightings go the extra mile fire pit gina cubs tents welgevonden klipspringers lodge ranger camp animals bush luxury africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2021

A real little gem!
We did the top unit - amazing views
Lovely kitchen patio and lounge
The bathroom was lovely
Great fire pit (needs the weird spike removing from the middle - it’s less than ideal in the dark)
The game is always amazing
The team super, Herbert next time hyena
Dinner and lunch was lovely!
We hope to be back soon

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 750katherinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterberg Reserve, Marketing at Wild Ivory Eco lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

HI Katherine,

Thank you so much for the feedback and your great review. The pole on the fire plinth was previously used for an adjustable braai grid, until a young elephant bull used it as a rubbing post and bent the pole. It's a valid point and we will remove as you suggest, as it can no longer be used.

Bets regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

We booked the lodge out as a group in January. The lodge itself is very simple and comfortable. The tents and communal areas could do with a bit of a deep clean and a bit of a revamp. Herbert, our ranger was great and very knowledgeable (and very patient). My only gripe is the food... There is an option to self cater, and I wish we had. The food was disappointing. For a small camp with only 10 guests, I would have expected something a little more creative and tasty. Go for self catering if you have the option.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DesireG36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterberg Reserve, Marketing at Wild Ivory Eco lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

HI Desire,

Thank you for taking the time to send us constructive feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the game drives with Herbert. We change our menu every few months , so its always helpful to get feedback from our guests so that we can make the necessary changes. We have new personal involved and we will be running a new menu from April, we are confident that there will be an improvement in the meals and will offer excellent value with our catering option.

Bets regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

Wild Ivory has the perfect balance between luxury and wild. The luxury lies in the beautiful clean tented rooms, outdoors shower, chef and staff on hand at all times and the wild lies in the unfenced camp, camp visits from the elephants and the top class game drives.

Game sightings included cheetah with cubs, lions, buffalo, eland, lots and lots of rhino which was of course very special.

Herbert is a great guide and put up with all the birding questions, knowing all the answers. Gina, Alfius, Lazarus and the whole staff team went out of their way to make our lives comfortable. We could not help staying an extra day.

We can recommend this lodge to everyone - real value for money too! We loved it.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank hetties2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterberg Reserve, Marketing at Wild Ivory Eco lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Dear Hettie,

Thank you for your review and your kind words!

Warm regards form the Wild Ivory Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020

Growing up with the Kruger, I've always enjoyed true Bushveld experiences,and can say without any doubt this has been one of our best holidays in Africa.

The reserve itself is fantastic, diverse landscapes and great variety of animals. Although we didn't see lions, we saw alot of other amazing animals. The lodge itself also has a great variety of animals around, klipspringers, vlakvarke, zebras and lots of elephants!

The lodge's location could not have been better, it is completely remote with A STUNNING view, not a single light or road as far as the eye can see. We did not get a bonfire, but we were the only guests so I understand that.

The rooms itself, is basic and unfenced, which is actually great, that is exactly what you want in the bush, the animals move around the tents, you have a great view and the tents are incredibly clean. Great king size beds.

To be honest, I cannot believe this lodge isn't always fully booked. I saw people complaining about the elephants and so on, so if you want something more fancy then this is probably not for you. But if you want a true Bushveld experience, then this is the lodge for you.

Some pointers, the staff at the lodge is exceptional, never been to a lodge where I can see the staff really go the extra mile and have a love for nature. Whether the all inclusive is worth the extra money is debateble, but that's perhaps because we are locals. Also, it is an eco lodge, so no fans, but the tents are extremely well designed for proper airflow.

Wild ivory eco lodge, you will definitely see us again, soon.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lauritzd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildIvory, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Ivory Eco lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

HI,

This review has made our day! Thank you very much!

Kind regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

We just loved our stay at Wild Ivory Eco Lodge. It was probably the best part of our whole family vacation in South Africa.
The place was amazing! beautiful! the people that work there were so polite and service minded and lovely to be around.
Also, everything was made easy for us, starting with the contact person for the reservation! Thanks Julie! thanks Herbert/Chau!!
The staff was wonderful!! The place incredible!!
We just loved the whole thing!!!!!!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildIvory, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Ivory Eco lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

HI Stephanie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this amazing review!

Kind regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews